Six Different Bears Earn ITA Scholar-Athlete Status

Six Different Bears Earn ITA Scholar-Athlete Status

Aug. 8, 2008

PROVIDENCE, RI - The Brown women's tennis team was one of 102 women's tennis teams in the country to earn the ITA All-Academic Team award, while six different members of the team are among 499 student-athletes across the country to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status. Brown was one of six Ivy League teams to earn the team honor, while leading the lead with six scholar-athlete selections. Dartmouth had five, while Princeton had four honorees. Yale (3), Columbia (2), and Cornell (2) rounded out the Ivy League's 22 selections.

Brown's individual honorees include Alexa Baggio '09 (Coopersburg, PA), Emily Ellis '10 (Fort Worth, TX), Brett Finkelstein '09 (North Caldwell, NJ), Kelley Kirkpatrick '08 (Villanova, PA), Sara Mansur '09 (Houston, TX), and Marisa Schonfeld '11 (Washington, DC).

The All-Academic Team Award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above. All eligible student-athletes whose names appear on the NCAA eligibility form and have competed in one or more varsity matches must average into the GPA for the current academic year.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status, a player must be a varsity letter winner, have a GPA of at least 3.50 for the current academic year, and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters.