Women's Swimming & Diving

Brown Swimming & Diving Presents Team Awards at Annual Banquet

Brown Swimming & Diving Presents Team Awards at Annual Banquet

Providence, R.I. - The Women's Swimming and Diving Team celebrated their 2011-2012 season with a banquet on April 16, 2012. The athletes, coaches, and special guests honored the team's hard work and season accomplishments with the presentation of varsity letters and team awards while they enjoyed dinner at the Brown Faculty Club.

First year letter winners included freshman Kate Dillione, sophomore Ellen Downing, freshman Charlene Flores, sophomore Catie Pittman, and senior Haley Strausser. Second year letter winners included senior Becca Tassell and sophomores Briana Borgolini, Paige Gilley, Leigh Holmes, and Emma Lamothe. Junior Kristin Jackson received her third letter. Senior Kristen Caldarella, receiving a fourth letter, and senior Jamie Firth, receiving a third letter, were honored with a white sweater – a designation reserved for four year letter winners and exceptional team contributors. 

The Florance Filippo MVP Award was given to Emma Lamothe. The Martha Joukowsky '58 Scholar-Athlete Award was presented to senior Melanie Pascal. Senior Haley Strausser was honored by receiving The Rebecca More Service Award. Senior captain Jamie Firth was the recipients of The Dave Roach Coaches Award.

Head Coach Peter Brown saluted the seniors and their dedication, perseverance and leadership over the past four years. The evening ended with the captains presenting the coaches with a special kick-board plaque that commemorates the past four years in The Bubble, Brown's temporary pool.