Women's Soccer Announces Team Awards

Women's Soccer Announces Team Awards

The Brown women's soccer team held its annual season-ending banquet on Wednesday April 17 at the Faculty Club on the Brown campus. Seven different individuals were honored with team awards, while members of both the Class of 2013 and the Class of 2016 received their letter sweaters. The three seniors – Eliza Marshall (North Andover, MA), Diana Ohrt (Simi Valley, CA) and Rachael Pack (Park City, UT) were also recognized for their invaluable contributions to the Brown women's soccer program throughout the past four years.

The Ridgely MVP Award is presented annually to the Most Valuable Player as voted by the team. It is in honor of Professor and Mrs. Beverly Ridgely for their outstanding contributions to women's soccer. 2012 Award Recipient: Mika Siegelman '14 (Piedmont, CA).

The Sarah Nicholson Memorial Award is given to a senior on the team who, through total dedication and loyalty, has given the most of themselves to the good of the team. 2012 Award Recipient: Eliza Marshall '13 (North Andover, MA).

The Margeson Team Spirit Award is given to that player who exhibits the most team spirit as voted by the players. 2012 Award Recipient: Amber Bledsoe '14 (Cincinnati, OH). 

The Dobson-Kay Coaches' Award is presented annually to the player(s) chosen by the coaches for outstanding contribution, dedication and sportsmanship. 2012 Award Recipients: Annie Gillen '15 (San Clemente, CA) and Louisa Pitney '14 (Washington, DC), and Emily Wingrove (Westwood, MA

The Denis Chartier Memorial Award was initiated in 2011, and is presented annually to the team's leading point scorer. It is in memory of former Assistant Coach Denis Chartier, who died at the young age of 56 and was a loyal, dedicated coach with the Brown women's soccer program for 15 years. 2012 Award Recipient: Chloe Cross '15 (Seattle, WA).

Letter sweaters were also handed out to both four-year and first-year letterwinners. Marshall, Ohrt and Pack all earned white sweaters. Freshmen Charlotte Beach (New Haven, CT), Jillian DeSimone (Lincoln, RI), Michelle Jolson (Wyoming, OH), Erin Katz (Montgomery, AL), MacKenzie Kligmann (Weston, FL), Anne Moody (Rancho Palos Verdes, CA), Sarah Moody (Rancho Palos Verdes, CA), and Hogan Vivier (Cumberland, RI) all earned brown sweaters.

Pictured: (l-r) Professor Warren Prell, Mika Siegelman '14, Chloe Cross '15, Luis Faria.