Women’s Soccer Announces 2010 Award Recipients

Women’s Soccer Announces 2010 Award Recipients

The Brown women's soccer team held its annual season-ending banquet, and five different individuals were honored with team awards. Senior captain Gina Walker (Canyon Country, CA) earned the Ridgely MVP Award, while classmate Katie Gannett (Chicago, IL) was awarded the Sarah Nicholson Memorial Award and the Margeson Team Spirit Award. Sophomore Rachael Pack (Park City, UT) and freshmen MC Barrett (Ithaca, NY) and Amber Bledsoe (Withamsville, OH) were recognized with the Dobson-Kay Coaches' Award. 

The Ridgely MVP Award is presented annually to the Most Valuable Player as voted by the team. It is in honor of Professor and Mrs. Beverly Ridgely for their outstanding contributions to women's soccer. 2011 Award Recipient: Gina Walker '11 (Canyon Country, CA).

The Sarah Nicholson Memorial Award is given to a senior on the team who, through total dedication and loyalty, has given the most of themselves to the good of the team. 2010 Award Recipient: Katie Gannett '11 (Chicago, IL).

The Margeson Team Spirit Award is given to that player who exhibits the most team spirit as voted by the players. 2010 Award Recipient: Katie Gannett '11 (Chicago, IL). 

The Dobson-Kay Coaches' Award is presented annually to the player(s) chosen by the coaches for outstanding contribution, dedication and sportsmanship. 2010 Award Recipients: MC Barrett '14 (Ithaca, NY), Amber Bledsoe '14 (Withamsville, OH) and Rachael Pack (Park City, UT).

Brown letter sweaters were also handed out to both four-year and first-year letterwinners. Walker, Gannett, and classmates Joyce Chun (Irvine, CA), Erika Lum (Hawaii-Kai, HI) and Charlotte Rizzi (Bethesda, MD) all earned white sweaters. Sophomore Alexa Ellis (Hampton, NH) and the 10 members of the Class of 2014, Barrett, Bledsoe, Kiersten Berg (Salt Lake City, UT), Alison Mullin (Lafayette, CO), Louisa Pitney (Washington, DC), Lauren Pope (Glencoe, IL), Katie Rushton (Denver, CO), Mika Siegelman (Piedmont, CA), Maddie Wiener (Portland, OR), and Emily Wingrove (Westwood, MA) all earned brown sweaters.

Pictured: Assistant Coach Luis Faria (left) with MVP Award winner Gina Walker '11.