Two Women's Hockey Players Named To New England Hockey Writers Division I Women's All-Star Team

March 28, 2006

Senior defender Myria Heinhuis and sophomore forward Hayley Moore were named to this year's New England Hockey Writers Division I Women's All-Star Team. New Hampshire placed four on the team, Providence and Brown each placed two, while Connecticut, Maine, Harvard and Boston College each had a single representative.

Heinhuis has been the backbone of the Bear's defense for most of career at Brown, and has made her presence known in the offensive zone the last two seasons. Ranking eleventh among ECACHL defenders in scoring this season tallying nine points on a goal and eight assists, the 5'11 defender has never missed a game or practice in her four year career and has recorded eight goals and 42 assists for 50 points in 128 appearances.

Moore was a force for Brown in the offensive zone all year, leading the team in points (43), goals (25) and assists (18). With 26 points in conference play, the second year forward stands in third place in the ECAC Hockey League for points per game. Moore's 14 goals rank her fourth and with five game winning goals Moore ranks number one in the ECACHL.

The New England Hockey All-Stars and award winners will be honored at the hockey writers' annual banquet, to be held on Thursday, April 13, at the Prince of Pizza Restaurant on Route 1 in Saugus, MA.

2005-06 New England All-Star Team
Melissa Bourdon, Jr. New Hampshire
Kaitlyn Shain, Sr. Connecticut

Martine Garland, So. New Hampshire
Kristin Gigliotti, Jr. Providence
Myria Heinhuis, Sr. Brown
Kelly Law, Jr. Maine

Jennifer Hitchcock, So. New Hampshire
Hayley Moore, So. Brown
Jennifer Raimondi, Sr. Harvard
Deb Spillane, So. Boston College
Karen Thatcher, Sr. Providence
Sadie Wright-Ward, So. New Hampshire