14 Bears Named to 2007 ZAG/NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad

March 12, 2008

PROVIDENCE, RI - Fourteen members of the field hockey team were named to the 2007 ZAG/National Field Hockey Coaches Association National Academic Squad. The National Academic Squad program recognizes those collegiate student-athletes who have achieved a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.30 through the first semester of the 2007-08 academic year. In addition, Brown was one of 63 Division I teams to earn the 2007 ZAG/NFHCA Division I National Academic Team Award. This award recognizes those institutions that achieve a minimum GPA of 3.0 during the first semester of the 2007-08 academic year.

Brown's 14 is tied for seventh overall with Bucknell, LaSalle, Penn State and St. Louis, and most among the eight Ivy League schools. Only Old Dominion (18), Vermont (17), West Chester (17), Robert Morris (16), Stanford (16), and Sacred Heart (15) had more student-athletes selected to the National Academic Squad than Brown.

Brown's honored athletes include four-time honorees Katie Auriemma '08 (Medford, NJ), Kristen Hodavance '08 (Emmaus, PA), and Andrea Posa '08 (Weston, MA), three-time honoree Natalie Harrington '09 (Locust Valley, NY), and two-time honorees Whitney Knowlton '10 (Columbus, OH) and Nora Malgieri '10 (Gates Mills, OH). Sandhya Dhir '08 (Agoura Hills, CA), Remy Dikeou '11 (Denver, CO), Sara Eaton '09 (Arlington, VA), Katie Hyland '11 (Riegelsville, PA), Ani Kazarian '08 (Providence, RI), Cassie Puhalla '11 (Forty Fort, PA), Tess Standa '09 (Lake Bluff, IL), and Tacy Zysk '11 (Walpole, MA) are all first-time honorees.