13 Bears Named to 2010 NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad

PROVIDENCE, RI – Thirteen members of the field hockey team were named to the 2010 National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) National Academic Squad. The National Academic Squad program recognizes those collegiate student-athletes who have achieved a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.30 through the first semester of the 2010-11 academic year. In addition, Brown was one of 63 Division I teams to earn the 2010 NFHCA Division I National Academic Team Award. This award recognizes those institutions that achieve a minimum GPA of 3.0 during the first semester of the 2010-11 academic year.

Brown's 13 is 7th-most in the country, behind Towson (18), American (16), Northeastern (15), Old Dominion (15), Sacred Heart (15), and Central Michigan (14). Brown's honored athletes include four-time honorees Katie Hyland '11 (Riegelsville, PA) and Cassie Puhalla '11 (Forty Fort, PA), who are two of 92 four-time honorees in the nation.

Also recognized from Brown were three-time honorees Laura Iacovetti '12 (Blue Bell, PA), Kit Masini '12 (Ann Arbor, MI), Bridget McNamara '12 (Bethesda, MD), Abigail Taft '12 (Shaker Heights, OH), and Tacy Zysk '11 (Walpole, MA), and two-time honorees Georgia Cook '13 (New Vernon, NJ) and Kelley Harrison '13 (Houston, TX). Maggie Brady '14 (Tulsa, OK), Avery Burns '14 (Millersville, MD), Kelsey Grossman '14 (Shavertown, PA), and Charlotte Small '14 (Summit, NJ) are all first-time honorees.

Pictured: Cassie Puhalla '11. Photo by DSPics.net.