John Murphy Named Division I National Coach of the Year

June 18, 2004

The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association has announced the selections for the Women's Rowing Coaches of the Year and Brown Head Coach John Murphy has been named the Division I National Coach of the Year. Murphy led the Bears to their fourth National Title this season, capturing victories in both the varsity eight and second varsity eight races.

Murphy has been at the helm of the women's program since 1984. Since that time, Brown has been a dominant force in the Eastern Sprints and on the national scene. The Bears finished in the top three at the NCAA National Championships every year that the event has existed (since 1997), including its four first place finishes, making Brown the winningest program in NCAA Championship history.

Murphy has also posted four undefeated seasons since 1996. Before coming to Brown, Murphy coached at Washington and Cal-Berkeley. He is a graduate of Columbia University and this is his second CRCA National Coach of the Year honor.