#2 Brown Women's Crew Selected to Compete in NCAA Championships

#2 Brown Women's Crew Selected to Compete in NCAA Championships

May 20, 2008

Providence, RI - The #2 Brown Women's Crew, along with 11 other teams, have been selected to compete at the 2008 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships hosted by the University of California, Berkeley from May 30 - June 1 on Lake Natoma in Sacramento, California.

The Bears are coming off an EAWRC Sprints title and an Ivy League Championship after the varsity eight held off defending NCAA Varsity Eight Champion Yale for the second time this season. Brown won by 1/3 length after a tough race that saw three leaders in the first 1,000 meters and a sprint to the finish by the two Ivy powerhouses. The varsity eight earned First Team All-Ivy honors with the win, while the Bears took home the Charles Willing Jr. Team Trophy.

"We are very happy to be selected and are looking forward to it," said Brown Head Coach John Murphy. "It's an excellent group of teams and I'm sure it was really hard for the committee to choose. We're looking forward to some competitive racing."

Earning First Team All-Ivy accolades was coxswain Sarah Wu (Andover, MA), stroke Emma Olson (New Haven, CT), Lauren Libfraind (Princeton, NJ), Nicole McDonald (South San Francisco, CA), Jessica Stage (Alexandria, VA), Hannah Malvin (Pittsburgh, PA), Aubrey Fitzpatrick (Pennington, NJ), Hope Richardson (Washington, DC) and Corey Finnerty-Ludwig (Seattle, WA).

Last year, Brown earned its fifth Division I NCAA Rowing Championship at Melton Hill Lake in Oak Ridge, Tenn.. The team championships are comprised of 12 teams, while each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers. In addition, four eight-women boats from institutions not represented in the team competition were selected.

Also competing will be California, Harvard, Michigan State, Ohio State, Princeton, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington, Washington State, Wisconsin, and Yale. Four at-large teams were selected, which include Clemson, Michigan, Southern California and Stanford.