Schedule and Seedings Released For EAWRC Sprints

Schedule and Seedings Released For EAWRC Sprints

May 10, 2006

The Eastern Association of Women's Rowing Colleges has released the schedule and seedings for the 2006 Eastern Sprints Championships, which will be held this Sunday on the Cooper River in Camden, NJ. The Bears have three crews seeded in the top two, including its undefeated second varsity eight in the top spot. Princeton has secured number one seeds for three of its crews as it is the defending varsity eight champion. Brown will be looking to capture its third straight Charles Willing Jr. Team Trophy.

Brown's Varsity Eight, ranked fifth overall in the country, is seeded second behind the Tigers. One of the Bears two EAWRC losses of the season came against Princeton in their spring opener. The Tigers took a 9.3 second victory in the race on a choppy Cooper River. The following week Brown dropped its home opener to Radcliffe but since that time, the Bears have found their stride, going undefeated with an 8-0 record. In its final regular season race, Brown defeated the then second seeded Yale by four seconds. The Bulldogs are now seeded third heading into the EAWRC Sprints while Dartmouth is fourth.

Brown's Varsity Eight will race in lane three of the second heat, which is scheduled for 9:20 a.m. In lane one of the heat will be 14th seeded Georgetown, eighth seeded Columbia in lane two, fifth seeded Boston University in lane four and 11th seeded Syracuse in lane five. Brown defeated both Columbia and Boston University handily during the regular season.

The top two finishers in each heat of three will advance onto the afternoon grand finals while the next two will race in the petite finals. A third level final will be held for the rest of the crews. This will be the case in the Second Varsity Eight, Novice Eight, and Third Varsity Four events as well. Last year, Brown placed third behind Princeton and Yale in the varsity eight.

Brown's Second Varsity Eight will be the crew to beat this year as it enters the championship undefeated with an 11-0 mark. The Bears will race in the first heat at 8:30 a.m., stationed in lane three. Boston College, seeded 13th, will be in lane one with seventh seeded Navy in lane two. On the other side of Brown will be sixth seeded Northeastern and 12th seeded Cornell, both of which the Bears defeated in the regular season. Yale is seeded second behind Brown while Princeton is third. Last year, Brown was favored to win but took third.

In the Novice Eight, the Bears are seeded third behind Princeton and Dartmouth. Brown will again be placed in lane three with unseeded Boston College and ninth seeded Columbia to its left and fourth seeded Radcliffe, 10th seeded Penn and unseeded George Washington to its right. The Bears first-year crew went 10-1 during the regular season, its only blemish coming against top-seeded Princeton. Brown took first at last year's Sprints in both the first and second novice eight races.

The Bears are seeded second in the Third Varsity Four-A behind Princeton and will again be in the middle lane of heat two at 10:10 a.m. Unseeded Boston College and eighth seeded Navy will be in lanes one and two while fifth seeded BU and 11th seeded Georgetown will be in lanes four and five respectively.

Brown's Third Varsity Four-B will also race at this year's championships, going against Radcliffe's, Yale's and Rutger's B boats. That heat will take place at 10:40 a.m. The Bears will also feature a Lightweight Four this year and will face two Princeton crews and Wisconsin in a 9:40 a.m. heat. The top two finishers in each heat of the Lightweight Four and Third Varsity Four-B events, in addition to the next two best time finishers, will advance to the grand finals.

To download a copy of the 2006 EAWRC Sprints Championship race schedule click here