Brown Crew Earns ECAC Rowing Trophy

Brown Crew Earns ECAC Rowing Trophy

CENTERVILLE, Mass. – Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Commissioner Dr. Kevin T. McGinniss recently announced that Brown University has earned the 2013 ECAC Rowing Trophy. Brown shared the honor with Trinity College and captured the award for the fourth time in school history.

The ECAC Rowing Trophy is given annually to the ECAC College or University men's and women's rowing programs that best demonstrate the core values of the ECAC, (tradition, diversity and service), along with success at the premier Eastern Regattas. The regattas are the Division I Eastern Association of Rowing Colleges Sprints and Eastern Association of Women's Rowing Colleges Sprints and the ECAC National Invitational Rowing Championship. The trophy is awarded based on a points average for the finish of the varsity eight, second varsity eight, and novice eight entrees in the EARC Heavyweight and NIRC Men's and Women's Heavyweight regattas. Points in the EAWRC Heavyweight regattas are compiled based on results from the varsity, second varsity and varsity four results.

"Brown Athletics is honored to have its men's and women's rowing teams recognized with the ECAC Rowing Trophy," said Jack Hayes, Brown University's Director of Athletics.  "Under the leadership of coaches John and Phoebe Murphy, the Brown women's crew is the most successful rowing program in the nation with seven NCAA Championships. Brown's men's team has been rowing for over 150 years, and coach Paul Cooke has provided the leadership for our program to excel on the league and national level. Our student-athletes should be commended for outstanding rowing at the ECAC Championships and for representing Brown University with distinction."

The Bears captured their first ECAC Rowing Trophy since 2009 and fourth overall after a dominating performance at the 2013 Eastern Regattas. On the men's side, Brown took first place in the second varsity eight and second place in both the varsity eight and the freshmen eight races. The women's team earned victories in the second varsity eight and the varsity four while finishing second in the varsity eight.

With its fourth ECAC Rowing Trophy, Brown has won more ECAC Rowing Trophies than any other institution. The Bears won three consecutive ECAC Rowing Trophies from 2007 to 2009. Trinity is a close second with three ECAC Rowing Trophies, as it adds to its wins in 2010 and 2006. Previous winners of the ECAC Rowing Trophy also include Harvard University (2002, 2004), Princeton University (2003, 2005) and Williams College (2011, 2012).