Women’s Crew Standouts Courtin & Gobbo Named CRCA All-Americans

Women’s Crew Standouts Courtin & Gobbo Named CRCA All-Americans

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) announced the 2011 Pocock All- America award winners and Brown women's crew rowers Allison Courtin '12 (Buffalo, N.Y.) and Tessa Gobbo '13 (Chesterfield, N.H.) were both honored. Both Courtin and Gobbo were in the Bears' varsity eight boat for the past two years, including Bruno's national championship victory last season.

Courtin was named a First Team All-America selection after making the Second Team last season. Gobbo, who also earned First Team distinction in 2011, garnered Second Team All-America honors this season. 

Both Courtin & Gobbo anchored the varsity eight boat this season, occupying the first two seats for the Bears. Brown finished 14th nationally at the 2012 NCAA Division I Rowing Championships in late May, in Mercer County, N.J.

These awards recognize the outstanding performances of rowers and coxswains on the national level in women's collegiate rowing. All-American student-athletes must have rowed at least 75% of the current spring season's races in the varsity boat while the strength of finish in the institution's varsity eight within the country and 2k erg scores are factored in.


2012 Pocock First Team All America Awards

Keziah Beall, University of Virginia
Molly Bruggeman, University of Notre Dame
Allison Courtin, Brown University
Sarah Cowburn, University of Virginia
Ulrike Denker, Ohio State University
Emily Eifferet, University of Michigan
Elise Etem, University of California, Berkeley
Taylor Goetzinger, Cornell University
Paparangi Hipango, University of California, Berkeley 
Martie Kuzzy, University of Virginia
Kate Mansfield, University of Wisconsin
Daphne Marschenko, Stanford University
Catherine McDermott, Yale University
Felice Mueller, University of Michigan
Michelle Neuder, Michigan State University
Kristine O'Brien, University of Virginia
Kelly Pierce, Princeton University
Heidi Robbins, Princeton University 
Liz Soutter, Harvard-Radcliffe
Britta Syverson, University of California, Los Angeles
Lenka Vrecnikova, University of Southern California
Kristy Wentzel, Stanford University
Sidney Thorsten, University of Virginia, coxswain


2012 Pocock Second Team All America Awards

Anastasia Alexander, University of California, Los Angeles
Katherine Ashton, United States Naval Academy
Erin Bennet, University of Louisville
Maryann Concannon, Saint Mary's College of California
Heather Cummings, Clemson University
Hayley Daniell, Dartmouth College
Courtney Diekema, Harvard-Radcliffe
Tessa Gobbo, Brown University
Greta Haselmann, Northeastern University
Lindsey Healy, University of Michigan
Erika Lauderdale, University of Tennessee
Chelsey Lauzon, University of Central Florida
Cecilia Madsen, Cornell University
Vineta Moca, University of Southern California
Stephanie Rogers, University of Tulsa
Lisa Roman, Washington State University
Helen Tinkus, University of Southern California
Emily Walsh, Ohio State University
Samantha Warren, Columbia University
Asja Zero, Indiana University
Colleen Macke, University of Michigan, coxswain