Wrestling Prepared for 2018 EIWA Championships at Hofstra

Wrestling Prepared for 2018 EIWA Championships at Hofstra

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Brown University wrestling will compete in the 114th EIWA Championships at Hofstra University's David S. Mack Sports and Exhibition Complex from Saturday, March 3 to Sunday, March 4 as the Bears look to advance wrestlers from this weekend's conference tournament into the NCAA Championships.

At the EIWA Championships: Live Results | Live Video | Tickets
Tournament Info: EIWA Championships Central
On Twitter: @Brown_Wrestling | @BrownAthletics
On Facebook: Brown Wrestling | Brown University Athletics
On Instagram: brown_wrestling | brownathletics
Via Hashtag: #Rhode2CLE | #GoBruno 

The Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association has earned 47 automatic qualifiers to the NCAA Championship, the most of any conference in the nation besides the Big Ten, which holds 80 NCAA allocations. 

EIWA Allocations (47 Total)
125: 1 | 133: 3 | 141: 4 | 149: 4 | 157: 6 | 165: 6 | 174: 5 | 184: 7 | 197: 6 | 285:

Senior Zeke Salvo (Baltimore, Md.) and sophomore Zach Krause (Plainfield, Ill.) each registered his fifth pin of the season as Brown topped Columbia University, 19-18, and fell to Hofstra University, 24-18, on Saturday, Feb. 17 at University Gymnasium and the Mack Physical Education Center respectively. 

Among Brown's tentative competitors at EIWAs, seniors Justin Staudenmayer (Plymouth Meeting, Pa.) and Zeke Salvo (Baltimore, Md.) represent the Bears' most experienced wrestlers at the event. Each of them has competed three times at EIWAs with Staudenmayer placing fifth in 2016.

Junior Jon Viruet (Springfield, Mass.) is set to compete at EIWAs for the third straight season after placing sixth in 2017. Juniors CJ LaFragola (Little Egg Harbor, N.J.), Tucker Ziegler (Myersville, Md.), and Ian Butterbrodt (North Andover, Mass.) as well as sophomore Trey Keeley (Washington, Ill.) all competed at EIWAs last season.

Sophomore Zach Krause (Plainfield, Ill.) and freshmen Hunter Kosco (Canal Fulton, Ohio) and Bryce Rogers (Orlando, Fla.) will look to make their debuts at EIWAs. 

In its history, Brown has tallied 13 individual Eastern champions with Dave Foxen '12 taking home the Bears' last individual title at 174 pounds in 2012.

In addition to Brown, the EIWA comprises 15 other institutions including American, Army West Point, Binghamton, Bucknell, Columbia, Cornell, Drexel, Franklin & Marshall, Harvard, Hofstra, Lehigh, Navy, Penn, Princeton, and Sacred Heart.

In Intermat's Tournament Rankings, Lehigh (No. 7), Cornell (No. 11), and Drexel (No. 25) rank in the top 25 in the nation. As a conference, the EIWA boasts 60 wrestlers ranked in the Feb. 22 Coaches' Rankings and 65 wrestlers featured in the Feb. 22 RPI. 

EIWA Wrestlers in Feb. 22 Coaches' Rankings (60 Total)
125: 1 | 133: 4 | 141: 5 | 149: 7 | 157: 6 | 165: 8 | 174: 7 | 184: 9 | 197: 7 | 285:

EIWA Wrestlers in Feb. 22 RPI (65 Total)
125: 4 | 133: 4 | 141: 5 | 149: 7 | 157: 6 | 165: 9 | 174: 7 | 184: 8 | 197: 7 | 285:

Senior Justin Staudenmayer (Plymouth Meeting, Pa.), junior CJ LaFragola (Little Egg Harbor, N.J.), and junior Ian Butterbrodt (North Andover, Mass.) all appear in the RPI as of Feb. 22. Staudenmayer ranks 26th at 157 pounds, LaFragola ranks 21st and 184 pounds, and Butterbrodt ranks 30th at 285 pounds. LaFragola also stands No. 21 in the Coaches' Rankings from Feb. 22. 

With wins over Penn, Princeton, and Columbia, Brown posted three Ivy dual wins in a season for the first time since the 2008-09 campaign. With their 3-2 Ivy mark, the Bears tied for second in the Ivy standings, marking their highest finish since the 1996-97 season. 

Senior 157-pounder Justin Staudenmayer (Plymouth Meeting, Pa.) will make his fourth appearance at the EIWA Championships and has led Brown this season with 21 wins. The two-time NCAA qualifier paced the team with eight dual wins and seven EIWA dual wins. Earlier this season, he won his weight class at the Navy Classic (Nov. 18) and placed sixth at the Midlands Championships (Dec. 29-30). 

Junior 184-pounder CJ LaFragola (Little Egg Harbor, N.J.) enters EIWAs, coming off a February where he went 6-0. He led the team with seven EIWA dual wins and has posted a 16-7 record. Earlier this year the 2017 NCAA qualifier won his weight class at the Navy Classic (Nov. 18). 

Junior Jon Viruet (Springfield, Mass.) will look to make his third straight appearance at EIWAs after leading Brown with 29 dual points this season. He has posted an 18-12 overall record with four major decisions and three pins. 

Senior Zeke Salvo (Baltimore, Md.) will make his fourth appearance at the EIWA Championships. He ranked second on Brown with five pints this season. Junior Tucker Ziegler (Myersville, Md.) went 15-12 with 27 dual points, junior Ian Butterbrodt (North Andover, Mass.) compiled a 16-11 record with a 6-2 EIWA dual mark, sophomore Trey Keeley (Washington, Ill.) finished the regular season with a 13-16 mark. 

Sophomore Zach Krause (Plainfield, Ill.) and freshmen Hunter Kosco (Canal Fulton, Ohio), and Bryce Rogers (Orlando, Fla.) will look to make their debuts at EIWAs. Krause ranked second on Brown with five pins while posting a 16-13 record. Kosco went 12-11 with four major decisions, and Rogers finished the regular season 14-16 with a team-leading five major decisions. 

Junior CJ LaFragola (Little Egg Harbor, N.J.), senior Justin Staudenmayer (Plymouth Meeting, Pa.), and junior Jon Viruet (Springfield, Mass.) have led Brown as captains during the 2017-18 season. Both Viruet and Staudenmayer have acted as captains for the Bears for the second time in their careers 

After competing at EIWAs, Brown will look to send representatives to the NCAA Championships from Thursday, Mar. 15 to Saturday, Mar. 17 at Qucken Loans Arena in Cleveland, Ohio. The NCAA will announce the tournament's full field on Tuesday, Mar. 6 and unveil the brackets with a selection show on Wednesday, Mar. 7 at 6:00 p.m.

125: Trey Keeley (13-16, 5-5 EIWA Dual)
133: Hunter Kosco (12-11, 4-3 EIWA Dual)
141: Zeke Salvo (10-11, 4-3 EIWA Dual)
149: Zach Krause (16-13, 5-3 EIWA Dual)
157: Justin Staudenmayer (21-9, 7-1 EIWA Dual)
165: Jon Viruet (18-12, 5-5 EIWA Dual)
174: Bryce Rogers (14-16, 4-6 EIWA Dual)
184: CJ LaFragola (16-7, 7-2 EIWA Dual)
197: Tucker Ziegler (15-12, 5-5 EIWA Dual)
285: Ian Butterbrodt (16-11, 6-2 EIWA Dual)