Wrestling Places Eight on EIWA All-Academic Team

Wrestling Places Eight on EIWA All-Academic Team

BETHLEHEM, Pa. – Brown University wrestling has placed eight of its 10 EIWA Championship competitors on the EIWA All-Academic Team, the Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association announced on Thursday afternoon.

In the 16-team conference, Brown ranked in a tie for second place overall and in a tie for first place among Ivy League institutions with eight EIWA All-Academic honorees. American gained 10 All-Academic selections while Harvard garnered eight All-Academic picks.

The Bears' eight honorees included: senior Steven Galiardo (Chicago, Ill.), junior Zeke Salvo (Baltimore, Md.), sophomores Ian Butterbrodt (North Andover, Mass.), CJ LaFragola (Little Egg Harbor, N.J.), Travis Vasquez (Fair Lawn, N.J.), and Tucker Ziegler (Myersville, Md.), and freshmen Trey Keeley (Washington, Ill.) and Jimmy Pawelski (Park Ridge, Ill.). 

A total of 74 student-athletes from 15 institutions earned recognition for their academic accomplishments. In order to be eligible for EIWA All-Academic honors, student-athletes must carry a cumulative grade point average of 3.2 or higher and have competed at the EIWA Championships or maintain a 3.0 GPA or higher and qualify for the NCAA Championships.

Brown's EIWA All-Academic Team Selections
Ian Butterbrodt
CJ LaFragola
Steven Galiardo
Trey Keeley
Jimmy Pawelski
Zeke Salvo
Travis Vasquez
Tucker Ziegler