Wrestling’s LaFragola, Pawelski, Viruet, Keeley Take Home All-Ivy

Wrestling’s LaFragola, Pawelski, Viruet, Keeley Take Home All-Ivy

PRINCETON, N.J. – Sophomore 184-pounder CJ LaFragola and freshman 133-pounder Jimmy Pawelski have earned Second Team All-Ivy honors while sophomore 165-pounder Jon Viruet and freshman 125-pounder Trey Keeley have gained Honorable Mention All-Ivy accolades, the Ivy League conference office announced on Tuesday afternoon.

A native of Little Egg Harbor, N.J., LaFragola will make his debut at the NCAA Championships on Thursday after taking a major step forward in his second season. He tied for first on the team in dual wins (11) and ranked second for the Bears in total wins (24), dual EIWA wins (nine), and dual points (35). LaFragola notched a 4-1 record in Ivy duals.

Pawelski, a native of Park Ridge, Ill., represented Brown well as a rookie posting 18 wins, a 3-2 mark in Ivy duals, six dual wins, 28 dual points, two technical falls, and two pins.

A resident of Springfield, Mass., Viruet enjoyed an outstanding second-year campaign for the Bears, leading the team in wins (28), major decisions (eight), dual wins (11), dual EIWA wins (nine), dual points (47), and dual major decisions (four). Viruet went 4-1 in Ivy duals and placed sixth at the EIWA Championships.

Keeley, a resident of Washington, Ill., made an impact as a first-year totaling 15 wins, five dual wins, and 17 dual points while going 2-3 in Ivy duals.

LaFragola will continue his season at the NCAA Championships from Thursday, March 16 to Sunday, March 18 at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, Mo.


*Gabe Dean, Cornell (Sr., 184 – Lowell, Mich.) 

*Matthew Kolodzik, Princeton (Fr., 141 – Bellbrook, Ohio) 

Rob Koll, Cornell
Chris Ayres, Princeton 

*Noah Baughman, Cornell (Fr., 125 – Doylestown, Ohio)
*Pat D'Arcy, Princeton (So., 133 – Galloway, N.J.)
*Matthew Kolodzik, Princeton (Fr., 141 – Bellbrook, Ohio)
*Jordan Laster, Princeton (Sr., 149 – Bolingbrook, Ill.)
Mike D'Angelo, Princeton (So., 157 – Commack, N.Y.)
*Brandon Womack, Cornell (So., 165 – Scottsboro, Ala.)
*Brian Realbuto, Cornell (Sr., 174 – Somers, N.Y.)
*Gabe Dean, Cornell (Sr., 184 – Lowell, Mich.)
Frank Mattiace, Penn (Sr., 197 – Montville, N.J.)
*Garrett Ryan, Columbia (Jr., 285 – Scottsdale, Ariz.) 

Ty Agaisse, Princeton (Fr., 125 – Warren, N.J.)
Jimmy Pawelski, Brown (Fr., 133 – Park Ridge, Ill.)
AJ Jaffe, Harvard (Fr., 141 – St. Charles, Ill.)
Jon Furnas, Cornell (So., 149 – Powell, Ohio)
Hunter Ladnier, Harvard (Fr., 149 – Rocky River, Ohio)
May Bethea, Penn (Jr., 157 – Trenton, N.J.)
Ty White, Columbia (Jr., 165 – North Bomoseen, Vt.)
Casey Kent, Penn (Sr., 174 – Norristown, Pa.)
CJ LaFragola, Brown (So., 184 – Little Egg Harbor, N.J.)
Brett Harner, Princeton (Sr., 197 – Norristown, Pa.)
Ray O'Donnell, Princeton (Sr., 285 – Bethlehem, Pa.) 

Trey Keeley, Brown (Fr., 125 – Washington, Ill.)
Carl Antrassian, Penn (Fr., 133 – La Salle, Mich.)
Jacob Macalolooy, Columbia (Jr., 141 – Union City, Calif.)
Taylor Simaz, Cornell (Sr., 157 – Fennville, Mich.)
Jon Viruet, Brown (So., 165 – Springfield, Mass.)
Jonathan Schleifer, Princeton (Jr., 174 – East Brunswick, N.J.)
Joe Heyob, Penn (Jr., 184 - Cincinnati)
Ben Honis, Cornell (So., 197 – Syracuse, N.Y.)
Craig Scott, Cornell (Sr., 285 – Palmyra, N.Y.)

*-unanimous selection
^second team expanded to 11 due to ties in the voting