Beckerman Named Finalist for ELSM/NWCA Social Media of the Year Award

Beckerman Named Finalist for ELSM/NWCA Social Media of the Year Award

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – Brown wrestling Head Coach Todd Beckerman has been named one of 20 finalists for the Head Coach category of the 2014 Elite Level Sport Marketing/National Wrestling Coaches Association Social Media of the Year (SMOY) Awards, sponsored by Compound Clothing and FlipsWrestling.

The SMOY awards, founded during the 2012-13 season, are designed to honor individuals who have effectively built their personal and program brands throughout the year on social media.

This year's Battle Round bracket includes the following head coaches: Brian Smith (Missouri), Cael Sanderson (Penn State), Chris Ayres (Princeton), Chris Bono (South Dakota State), Doug Schwab (Iowa), Glen Lanham (Duke), Heath Eslinger (Tennessee at Chattanooga), Jason Borelli (Stanford), Jason Valek (Newbury), Keith Norris (Johns Hopkins), Kerry McCoy (Maryland), Kevin Jackson (Iowa State), Kevin Ward (Ouachita Baptist), Matt Azevedo (Drexel), Nick Mitchell (Grand View), Pat Popolizio (NC State), Scott Goodale (Rutgers), Teague Moore (American), Todd Beckerman (Brown), and Tom Ryan (Ohio State).

The bracket includes eight seeded head coaches and a five round Battle Round format designed to determine coaches with a strong social media following. To access the full bracket (with seeds and match-ups), visit the ELSM Social Media of the Year page.

"The finalists in the head coach category have done a great job representing our sport in branding the past year," said ELSM CEO Coyte Cooper. "Each finalist has established a solid social media presence and this year's Battle Round voting should be really exciting."

The Battle Round voting will start on Monday, June 30, with four first round match-ups that will run from 12-9 p.m.: Brian Smith v. Chris Ayres, Keith Norris v. Teague Moore, Jason Borelli v. Glen Lanham, and Todd Beckerman v. Heath Eslinger.

The winners of these battles will advance to the second round, which will take place Tuesday, July 1.  The match-ups for coaches who advance will take place based on the following schedule (all from 12-9 p.m.).

·       Quarterfinals: Wednesday, July 2

·       Semifinals: Thursday, July 3

·       Finals: Monday, July 7

The overall winner of the SMOY Awards will be announced at the 2014 NWCA Convention that will take place in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., from August 1-3. 

For more information on the Social Media of the Year Awards, visit the ELSM SMOY page.

About Elite Level Sport Marketing (ELSM)

Elite Level Sports Marketing (ELSM) is a firm that specializes in the development of marketing materials to grow NCAA sport programs.  In addition to the creation of branding development resources for coaches, ELSM also focuses on the delivery of innovative branding seminars for athletic departments, coaches associations, and organizations.  The firm also specializes in social media marketing consulting to help grow organizations.

About National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA)

The National Wrestling Coaches Association, established in 1928, is a non-profit organization for the advancement of all levels of the sport of wrestling with primary emphasis on developing coaches who work in academic environments.   The membership embraces all people interested in amateur wrestling.  The three core competencies of the NWCA are: coaching development, student-athlete welfare, and promotion of wrestling.