Bernstein Claims 184 Title, Wrestling Grapples to Seventh Place at Navy Classic

Bernstein Claims 184 Title, Wrestling Grapples to Seventh Place at Navy Classic


ANNAPOLIS, Md. – Junior Ophir Bernstein (Allen, Texas) tore through the competition, including a pair of top-20 opponents, and won the 184 pound weight class as the Brown wrestling team finished in seventh place in the 14-team field at the Navy Classic on Saturday. The Bears placed ahead of EIWA foe Bucknell and Big 12 power West Virginia while finishing just behind Ohio with 72.5 points.

Bernstein's first collegiate championship was complimented by a fourth-place showing by sophomore Anthony Finocchiaro (Canastota, N.Y.) in the 133 pound weight class and freshman Justin Staudenmayer's (Plymouth Meeting, Pa.) fifth-place finish at 157 pounds.

"The competition at the Navy Classic was a really great test to prepare us for the Vegas tournament in two weeks," said Head Coach Todd Beckerman. "I was very pleased with the way our guys competed throughout the tournament. We scored bonus points throughout the tournament which led us to a strong team finish."

Bernstein worked his way through the 184s, beginning with an 11-3 victory over Troy Murtha of Princeton. The junior captain then pinned George Mason's Alexander Stanley in 1:26 and followed with a 12-2 win versus Stout Watson of Navy. Bernstein took down Kent State's #20 Sam Wheeler in the semifinals, 12-4, then edged #11 Jackson Hein of Wisconsin, 3-2, to earn first-place honors.

"Every match right now is a learning experience, and we are working to get better with each competition," Beckerman said.

Brown returns to the mat at the Cliff Keen Invitational in Las Vegas, Nev., on Dec. 6-7.



Vincent Moita

Pinned Logan Ritchie (GMU), 4:57

Defeated by Brenden Campbell (NAV), 9-6

Defeated Taylor French (NAV), 8-3

Defeated by Edilberto Vinas (KSU), 7-3




Anthony Finocchiaro

Pinned Aaron Hansen (CID), 2:22

Defeated Daniel Suite Jr. (WVU), 15-2

Defeated Nick Soto (UTC), 10-3

Defeated by Nathan Pennesi (WVU), 6-4

Defeated Jordan Laster (PRN), 2-1

Defeated by Mackenzie McGuire (KSU), 12-0




Zachary Tanenbaum

Defeated by Mike Carlone (CSU), 9-0

Defeated Chas Busz (CSU), 14-2

Defeated John Twomey-Kozak (BRN-U), 16-2

Defeated by Colin Johnston (WVU), 13-1


John Twomey-Kozak (Unattached)

Defeated Nathaniel Harper (CID), 5-1

Defeated by Joe Locksmith (NAV), 4-2

Defeated by Zachary Tanenbaum (BRN), 16-2




Steven Galiardo

Defeated Ben Hunter (NAV), 8-5

Defeated by Tywan Claxton (OHU), 12-0

Defeated by Nicholas Maselli (PRN), 11-3


Cortlandt Choate

Defeated by Alex Pellicciotti (BUC), 9-0

Defeated Joseph DeQuinzio (PRN), 4-0

Defeated Blake Peek (NAV), T1.5:16-0;5:55

Defeated William Fox (NAV), 8-5

Defeated by Ben Hunter (NAV), 8-2


William McDonald (Unattached)

Pinned by Alex Johnson (NAV), 4:15

Defeated Brandon Giovanetti (FAM), 2-0

Defeated by Aaron Walker (CID), 4-3;TB3


Taylor Grenawalt (Unattached)

Defeated by William Fox (NAV), 15-2

Pinned Sharron Townsend (FAM), 5:43

Defeated by Michael Hooker (UTC), 13-3




Justin Staudenmayer

Defeated Cameron Wade (NAV), T1.5;16-0;3:00

Defeated by Isaac Jordan (WSC), 6-1

Pinned Donald Takagi (GMU), 2:46

Defeated by Bobby Burg (NAV), 3-0


Richard Muniz (Unattached)

Defeated by Mathew Gancayco (PRN), 5-1

Defeated Gabe Stark (CSU), 14-7

Defeated by Donald Takagi (GMU), 10-6


Philip Marano

Pinned by Kyle Roddy (PRN), 2:50

Defeated Timothy Wheeling (WVU), 6-2

Defeated Mathew Gancayco (PRN), 5-2

Defeated Dustin Fuller (NAV), 3-2

Defeated by Zach Johnson (NAV), 8-2


L.J. Remillard

Defeated by Ray Schlitt (BUC), 10-1

Defeated by Andrew Murano (FAM), 7-4




Galloway Thurston

Defeated by Stephen McPeek (BUC), T1.5;16-0;3:12

Defeated Greg Thurston (WVU), T1.5;17-2;5:52

Defeated by Ryan Callahan (PRN), 12-1


Ricky McDonald

Pinned Barrett Walthall (UTC), 3:52

Defeated Joey Krulock (BUC), 4-3

Defeated by Bubba Scheffel (WVU), 6-4

Defeated Johnny Watson (NAV), 3-1

Pinned by Barrett Walthall (UTC), 3:40




James Corbett

Defeated by Bobby Blankenship (CSU), 9-4

Defeated Alexander Stanley (GMU), 6-1

Pinned by Dylan Iczkowski (WSC), 3:45


Ophir Bernstein

Defeated Troy Murtha (PRN), 11-3

Pinned Alexander Stanley (GMU), 1:26

Defeated Stout Watson (NAV), 12-2

Defeated Sam Wheeler (KSU), 12-4

Defeated Jackson Hein (WSC), 3-2


Sebastein Levin

Defeated by Phillip Wellington (OHU), 10-0

Defeated Charles Kerkesner (FAM), 12-4

Pinned by Timothy McCall (WSC), 6:37


Augustus Marker

Defeated by Abram Ayala (PRN), 8-0

Defeated by Leonardo Trindade (WVU), 10-6




Ryder Cavey

Defeated by Kevin Malone (UTC), 4-0

Defeated Gerald Johnson (CID), T1.5;18-1;4:41

Pinned Christopher Nelson (WVU), 0:25

Defeated by Anthony Vizcarrondo (WVU), 7-3