Foxen & Bernstein Headed to NCAA Division I Wrestling Championship

Foxen & Bernstein Headed to NCAA Division I Wrestling Championship

St. Louis, Mo. – Brown University will be represented at the 2012 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championship at the Scottrade Center, as two wrestlers have qualified for the annual tournament. Senior Dave Foxen (Garden City, N.Y.), who won the EIWA Championship at 174 pounds, and rookie Ophir Bernstein (Allen, Texas), who will wrestle at 184, will wrestle for the Bears at the three-day event hosted by Missouri. Action starts on Thursday, March 15 and continues to Championship Saturday, March 17.

Foxen, who went 17-12 this season, will take on the No. 5 seed from Iowa, Ethen Lofthouse. The Hawkwye went 24-7 in 2011-12. This bout is an outside match on the bracket, with the winner advancing to the first round against unseeded Seth Creasy of Lock Haven.

Bernstein will face off against the No. 7 seed at 184, Josh Ihnen of Nebraska. Bernstein boasted an impressive record of 27-13 this season, actually winning four more matches than Ihnen, who went 23-5 on the year. Exclusive: Dave Foxen & Ophir Bernstein Qualify for NCAA's

Senior Dave Foxen and Rookie Ophir Bernstein sit down with to discuss the 2011-12 season before they head to the 2012 Division I NCAA Championship.

Follow Live

 • Live Results - Live play-by-play and results will be provided via TrackWrestling. Links will be available at

• Television - Each session will be shown live online at Sessions III, IV and V will be aired live on ESPNU, while the final session on Saturday night will be shown live on ESPN HD. 

Schedule of Events
Thursday, March 15
Session 1 - First Round: 11 a.m. CT (Live on
Session 2 - Second Round and Consolation Rounds: 6:30 p.m. CT (Live on
Friday, March 16
Session 3 - Quarterfinals and Consolation Rounds: 10 a.m. CT (Live on ESPNU HD/
Session 4 - Semifinals: 6 p.m. CT (Live on ESPNU HD/
Saturday, March 17
Session 5 - Medal Rounds: 10 a.m. CT (Live on ESPNU HD/
Session 6 - Finals: 6:30 p.m. CT (Live on ESPN HD/

Brown at the EIWA's

Foxen did something that had not happened since 1963 at the EIWA Championships, winning the 174 pound weight class as an unseeded wrestler. His performance helped the Bears to a 10th-place team finish at the 2012 tournament, hosted by Princeton at Jadwyn Gym.

Foxen upset the No. 2 seed from Lehigh, Nate Brown, to advance to the 174 championships, where he took on No. 4 seed Oscar Huntley, who also pulled the upset, taking down No. 1 seed Greg Zannetti of Rutgers.

Foxen and Huntley had tight match throughout with neither wrestler wanting to give the advantage away. In the end it was Foxen who was able to come up with the match-sealing takedown in the closing seconds of the bout to earn the title, 3-2.

The Bears boasted two other wrestlers in third-place matches in sophomore Billy Watterson (Pound Ridge, N.Y.) and Bernstein. Like Foxen, Watterson was involved in an extremely close match, but came out on the wrong end of a 3-2 decision to the No. 5 seed from Bucknell, Austin Miller. Bernstein fell, 8-3, to Penn's Erich Smith.