CWPA Eastern Championships Field Announced, No. 20 Men’s Water Polo Set to Host 12-Team Tourney

CWPA Eastern Championships Field Announced, No. 20 Men’s Water Polo Set to Host 12-Team Tourney

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. - The Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) announces the 12-team field that will compete for the 2013 CWPA Championship on Friday-Sunday, November 22-24, at Brown University's Katherine Moran Coleman Aquatics Center in Providence, R.I.

The No. 20 Brown men's water polo team earned the fifth seed in the tournament and will face 12th-seeded Fordham in a rematch of the opening round of the CWPA Northern Division Championships, which saw the Bears dismantle the Rams by a score of 9-5.

The 20-game championship features eight games on Friday, November 22, before the tournament concludes with six games on both Saturday and Sunday, November 23-24.

The field is comprised on an equal number of teams from the Southern Division and Northern Division as five automatic and one at-large team come from the Southern Division, while three automatic and three at-large programs come from the Northern Division.

The teams that advance to the championship field are:

  • 1st Seed - St. Francis College Brooklyn (Northern Division Champion)
  • 2nd Seed - United States Naval Academy (Southern Division Champion)
  • 3rd Seed - Harvard University (Northern Division Runner-Up)
  • 4th Seed - Bucknell Univeristy (Southern Division Runner-Up)
  • 5th Seed - Brown Univeristy (Northern Division Third Place)
  • 6th Seed - Princeton University (Southern Division Third Place)
  • 7th Seed - Mercyhurst University (Southern Division Fourth Place)
  • 8th Seed - Johns Hopkins Univeristy (Southern Division Fifth Place)
  • 9th Seed - George Washington University (At-Large/Southern Division Sixth Place)
  • 10th Seed - Massachusetts Institute of Technology (At-Large/Northern Division Fourth Place)
  • 11th Seed - Iona College (At-Large/Northern Division Fifth Place)
  • 12th Seed - Fordham University (At-Large/Northern Division Sixth Place)

Formerly known as the CWPA Eastern Championship, the championship is greatly expanded from last year's eight-team format as the now 12-team event features eight automatic bids and four at-large teams being selected to compete for the championship and the league's automatic berth to the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Championship.

In prior years, the tournament was an eight-team event with the top-four finishing squads from both the Northern and Southern Divisions earning spots in the field.  Seeding occurred based on an alternating pattern with the No. 1 seed being awarded to the top finishing team from the previous year champions bracket.  The second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth seeds alternated between the divisions with the champion of the previous year's Eastern Championship runner-up division claiming the No. 2 seed. For example, using last year's CWPA Championship results as a model, the Northern Division would earn the No. one, three, five and seeds, with the Southern Division taking the No. two, four, six and eight seeds due to St. Francis College Brooklyn winning the 2012 CWPA Championship at Princeton University with a 10-9 defeat of Bucknell University in overtime.

The other four teams for the men's CWPA Championship are based on at-large selections from the remaining 11 league programs by the Varsity Governance Council based on head-to-head comparisons among the fourth-to-seventh place finishers in the Northern Division and the sixth-to-12 place finishers from the Southern Division.  This means that four Northern Division programs and seven Southern Division teams vied for four slots into the championship tournament. 

Seeding for the field is unique from any past CWPA Championship as the top three finishing programs from the Northern and Southern Divisions comprise the Top Six seeds.

There is an emphasis on the value of claiming a division crown as the No. 1 position belongs to the previous year's CWPA Championship division, the Northern Division.  Similar to previous CWPA tournaments, the first six positions in the field alternate between the divisions with the top three Northern Division squads holding the No. one, three and five slots, with the Southern Division top three competing out of the No. two, four and six positions.

The fourth and fifth place finishers from the Southern Division were guaranteed slots in the field, but fell into the mix with the four at-large teams for seeding between No. 7-to-12.

About the Katherine Moran Coleman Aquatics Center:

Officially opened in May 2012, the Moran Coleman Aquatics Center is the home to Brown University Swimming & Diving and Water Polo.  The million-gallon pool — 56 meters long and nine meters deep —is the swimming pool for varsity competition and recreational use, has three-meter diving, seating for 400 spectators overlooking the pool, and a state-of-the-art video HD scoreboard.

The pool is solar-powered, with 168 dual-technology solar panels located on the roof providing enough electric and thermal energy to power the pool lights and regulate water temperature.

The facility has hosted the 2012 CWPA Women's Championship, the 2013 Men's Ivy League Swimming & Diving Championship and the 2013 CWPA Women's Southern Division Championship.

Championship Match-Ups:

Action will begin at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, November 22, when Johns Hopkins clashes with George Washington in a rematch of the Southern Division Fifth Place game which earned the Blue Jays an automatic berth in the CWPA Championship field. Merychurst will meet MIT at 11:20 a.m., prior to Princeton clashing with Iona (12:40 p.m.) and the host Bears of Brown taking on Fordham (2:00 p.m.).  The winners of the first four games will then meet the Top Four teams in the championship field as the victor of the JHU-GW game meets top-seed/Northern Division champion St. Francis Brooklyn at 3:20 p.m.  Southern Division champion Navy takes on the winner of the Mercyhurst-MIT game at 4:40 p.m., prior to Northern Division runner-up Harvard locking up with either Princeton or Iona at 6:00 p.m.  The day concludes at 7:20 when Southern Division runner-up Bucknell meets the winner of Brown-vs.-Fordham.

Competition will continue with six games on Saturday, November 23, prior to six placement games on Sunday, November 24, to decide the final order of finish and the league champion.

Brown University, Providence, R.I.

Friday, November 22, 2013


Game No.



8th Seed -
Johns Hopkins University


9th Seed -
George Washington University




7th Seed -
Mercyhurst University


10th Seed -
Massachusetts Institute of Technology




Southern Division Third Place -
Princeton University


11th Seed -
Iona College




Northern Division Third Place -
Brown University


12th Seed -
Fordham University




Northern Division First Place -
St. Francis College Brooklyn


Winner Game 1




Southern Division First Place -
United States Naval Academy


Winner Game 2




Northern Division Second Place -
Harvard University


Winner Game 3




Southern Division Second Place -
Bucknell University


Winner Game 4



Saturday, November 23, 2012


Game No.



Loser Game 1


Loser Game 4




Loser Game 2


Loser Game 3




Loser Game 8


Loser Game 5




Loser Game 7


Loser Game 6




Winner Game 5


Winner Game 8




Winner Game 6


Winner Game 7



Sunday, November 24, 2012


Game No.



Loser Game 10


Loser Game 9

11th Place



Winner Game 9


Winner Game 10

Ninth Place



Loser Game 12


Loser Game 11

Seventh Place



Winner Game 11


Winner Game 12

Fifth Place



Loser Game 14


Loser Game 13

Third Place



Winner Game 13


Winner Game 14

First Place


Teams listed first wear dark caps and are home on the scoreboard. Host team always wears dark caps and is listed first on the scoreboard regardless of seed.