Men's Track & Field

Ten Named To All-Ivy Men's Outdoor Track & Field Team

Ten Named To All-Ivy Men's Outdoor Track & Field Team

May 6, 2003

Princeton, NJ - Ten members of the Brown men's track & field team were named All-Ivy for the 2003 outdoor season. Those who were individual winners at the recent Heptagonal Championship were named to the First Team while the runners-up received Second Team honors. The Bears had five individual winners at Heps where they finished fourth overall.

Senior Brad Bowery (Hamden, CT) earned First Team honors after winning the title in the pole vault with a 16'00.75" clearance. Bowery is a two-time Outdoor Heptagonal Champion in the pole vault. This past winter, Bowery was named Second Team All-Ivy for his second place performance at the indoor Heptagonal Championship. Bowery was also a recipient of the 2003 Scholar Athlete Award at Brown's annual All-Sports Banquet.

Senior Sean Thomas (Wallkill, NY) was the triple jump champion, thus earning him First Team honors. His jump of 49'05.75" was the third best jump in Brown history. Thomas was also the indoor champion in the triple jump this year.

Freshman Ray Bobrownicki (Avondale, PA) was named First Team All-Ivy after his winning performance in the high jump with a height of 6'10.75". Bobrownicki earned Second Team honors for the indoor season.

Senior Chad Buechel (Upper St. Clair, PA) won the 3,000 meter steeplechase title with a dominating performance to earn First Team recognition. He timed in at 8:53.47, smashing his own school record, which he set on Apr. 12, by over four seconds. Buechel was this year's indoor champion in the mile.

Rounding out the First Team selections for Brown was sophomore Jeff Gaudette (Biddeford, ME), who won the 10,000 meters in a time of 30:04.59.

Freshman Jake Golenor (Redding, CA) was a Second Team selection after placing second in the discus throw with a mark of 162'03.00", good for sixth all-time at Brown.

The four members of the 4x400 meter relay team also earned Second Team accolades after taking the runner-up position at Heps. The squad timed in at 3:16.28. The team includes junior Phil Sardis (Mission Viejo, CA), freshman Ryan Young (Mesa, AZ), sophomore Eldridge Gilbert (Rockford, IL) and junior David Owen (Huntington, NY).