Sheehan Named Finalist for Lowe's Senior CLASS Award

Sheehan Named Finalist for Lowe's Senior CLASS Award

Oct. 16, 2008

Kansas City, MO -

Senior forward Dylan Sheehan (Wolfville, NS) was named one of 10 finalists for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award in the men's soccer division, as announced Thursday afternoon.

As one of 10 finalists, Sheehan will now be placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote beginning Oct. 16 and concluding Nov. 19.  Votes from coaches and media will be coupled with fan balloting to determine the winner of the award.  Fans can vote online during this time period at  Winners will be announced during the 2008 NCAA Division I Men's Soccer Championship in Frisco, Texas, schedule for Dec. 12-14.

Finalists were selected from a list of 30 candidates in each division, based on personal qualities that defied a complete student-athlete.  Each finalist displays numerous accomplishments across all four award pillars: classroom, community, character, and competition.

Sheehan is a co-captain on the Brown soccer squad this year, and has played in nine games scoring one goal. In 2007, Sheehan tied for the team lead in goals (10) and tallied six assists.  The First Team All-Ivy honoree helped lead the Brown soccer team to its 23rd NCAA appearance, and its 19th Ivy League title with a perfect 7-0-0 record. He guided the Bears to an adidas-Brown Classic championship, its third in nine years, and was named the Offensive MVP.   Entering his senior season, the Bears have won two Ivy titles, and have appeared in three NCAA tournaments.

A Commerce, Organization and Entrepreneurship concentrator, Sheehan was also a CoSIDA-ESPN The Magazine Second Team Academic All-American, and serves as the co-president of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee at Brown.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award was launched during the 2001-02 season in response to the trend of college basketball players leaving early to turn professional.  The award was conceived by sportscaster Dick Enberg, who continues to serve as Honorary Chairman, and has recognized winners in men's and women's basketball for seven years.  Lowe's extended the award in 2006 to include baseball, softball, men's hockey and men's lacrosse, then in 2007 added men's and women's soccer.  The award will also include the sport of football this fall, bringing the total awards program to nine Division I sports. 
2008 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Finalists
Matt Besler, Notre Dame
Sam Cronin, Wake Forest
Dylan Curtis, UC Davis
Michael Fucito, Harvard
Adam Gartner, E. Illinois
AJ Glubzinski, Army
Garret Guthrie, UMKC
Yohance Marshall, South Florida
Dylan Sheehan, Brown
O'Brian White, Connecticut