April 30, 2014

Laughlin Announces 2014 Men’s Soccer Schedule

Complete Schedule

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Head coach Patrick Laughlin of the Brown men's soccer program has announced the team's schedule for the upcoming 2014 season.

The 17-game schedule features nine home contests, including four Ivy League matchups. The Bears will also play host to crosstown rival Providence College, and will take on three teams that played in last year's NCAA Tournament.

Brown kicks off its 2014 campaign with a home contest on Friday, Sept. 5 against Siena at 7 p.m. After a road trip to Boston University on Sunday, Sept. 7 (7 p.m.), the Bears return to College Hill for a pair a home games, starting on Friday, Sept. 12 (7 p.m.) against Providence, which advanced to the second round of the 2013 NCAA Tournament. Brown plays host to Lehigh two days later on Sunday, Sept. 14 at 1 p.m.

From there, the Bears will take a trip down south to participate in the South Florida/Florida Gulf Coast Tournament. The Bears first take on USF, the reigning American Athletic Conference champion, on Thursday, Sept. 18 at 7:30 p.m., before visiting the Eagles on Saturday, Sept. 20 at 7 p.m.

After Brown heads back home on Friday, Sept. 26 to take on Vermont at 7 p.m., the Bears round out the month on Sunday, Sept. 28 when they visit Fairfield at 1 p.m.

Brown opens Ivy League play on Saturday, Oct. 4 when they welcome Columbia to Stevenson Field at 7 p.m. After a road league contest on Saturday, Oct. 11 at Princeton (4 p.m.), the Bears take a break from Ivy action on Tuesday, Oct. 14 when they visit Boston College for a non-conference tilt at 4 p.m. 

The Bears finish the month of October with three straight home games, starting with a pair of pivotal Ivy matchups on Saturday, Oct. 18 against Harvard and on Saturday, Oct. 25 against Cornell. Both games are set to start at 3:30 p.m. The Bears wrap up their non-conference schedule on Tuesday, Oct. 28 when they host New Hampshire at 7 p.m.

Brown then visits reigning Ivy champion Penn on Saturday, Nov. 1 for a 7:30 p.m. contest, before heading back to Providence for the final home game on Saturday, Nov. 8 against Yale at 4 .m. The Bears take a trip up to Dartmouth on Saturday, Nov. 15 to close out the regular season at 5 p.m.