Brown’s Jon Okafor Invited to 2011 MLS Player Combine

Brown’s Jon Okafor Invited to 2011 MLS Player Combine

Providence, RI- Brown University men's soccer senior Jon Okafor (Verona, NJ) has been invited to participate in the 2010 adidas MLS Player Combine on Jan. 7-11 in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. Okafor is one of 54 college seniors from 36 Division I schools which were selected by a panel of Division I coaches in conjunction with MLS coaches.

Okafor helped guide the Bears to three NCAA Tournament appearances in his four-year career and combined for 40 points on 14 goals and 12 assists. This season, he led Brown to the third round of the NCAA tournament, as he saw action in 15 games and ranked second on the team in scoring with five goals and three assists. Okafor tallied Brown's first goal in its 2-1 first-round NCAA victory over Boston College as the squad finished 12-4-4 overall.

2011 adidas MLS Player Combine list by position:

GOALKEEPERS (5): Bryan Meredith (Monmouth); Jeff Attinella (University of South Florida); Jimmy Maurer (South Carolina); Joe Willis (University of Denver); Josh Ford (UConn)

DEFENDERS (17): A.J. Soares (California); Bilal Duckett (Notre Dame); Bobby Warshaw (Stanford); Christopher Korb (Akron); Colin Givens (Michigan State); Curtis Ushedo (UAB); Demitrius Omphroy (California); Eddie Ababio (UNC); Greg Klazura (Notre Dame); Greg King (UConn); Indy Smith (UNC Wilmington); Jalil Anibaba (UNC); J.T. Murray (Louisville); Juan Cruz (SMU); Michael Boxall (UCSB); Rich Balchan (Indiana); Tyler Lassiter (North Carolina State)

MIDFIELDERS (21): Anthony Ampaipitakwong (Akron); Blake Brettschneider (South Carolina); Cole Grossman (Duke); Daniel Keat (Dartmouth); Dustin McCarty (UNC); Ernesto Carranza (Sacramento State); Guillermo Cortes (Maryland); Hector Jimenez (California); Jimmy Banks (Green Bay); John "Jeb" Brovsky (Notre Dame); Jon Okafor (Brown); Josue Soto (SMU); Karl Reddick (Boston College); Konrad Warzycha (Ohio State); Lebogang Pila (St. Peter's College); Matheus Braga (Penn State); Matt Gold (Ohio State); Michael Farfan (UNC); Servando Carrasco (California); Stephen McCarthy (UNC); Tommy Drake (Clemson)

FORWARDS (11): Amani Walker (UCI); Ashley McInnes (Tulsa); Brayan Martinez (Seton Hall University); CJ Sapong (James madison); Davis Paul (California); Efrain Burgos (Cal Poly San Luis Obispo), Jason Herrick (Maryland); Justin Meram (Michigan); Levi Houapeu (UMBC); Philip Bannister (Loyola University Maryland); Steven Perry (Notre Dame)