Jeff Larentowicz ‘05 Named to MLS All-Star Team

Jeff Larentowicz ‘05 Named to MLS All-Star Team

Commerce City, CO- Major League Soccer today announced that Bruce Arena, LA Galaxy head coach and MLS All-Star Team head coach, has selected Rapids midfielder Jeff Larentowicz '05 to the 23-man 2010 AT&T MLS All-Star roster.

The MLS All-Stars will take on Manchester United in the 2010 AT&T MLS All-Star Game on July 28, 2010 at Reliant Stadium in Houston, Texas (6:30 p.m. MT, ESPN2, TeleFutura).

This is the first career MLS All-Star selection for the six-year veteran Larentowicz.

A disruptive force on opponents' attack and a settling presence for the Rapids, Larentowicz is in his first season with Colorado after five years in New England. He has started all 15 Rapids games and scored one goal and added one assist. A fourth-round selection in the 2005 Supplemental Draft, Larentowicz looked like a longshot to stick, but has developed into one of the most reliable holding midfielders in MLS.

Due to international club competition for five members of the All-Star First XI and an injury to midfielder Kyle Beckerman, Arena selected 11 additional players for the game day roster:

Goalkeeper Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake); defenders Kevin Alston (New England Revolution), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Wilman Conde (Chicago Fire) and Heath Pearce (FC Dallas); midfielders Sebastian LeToux (Philadelphia Union), David Ferreira (FC Dallas), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution) and Larentowicz (Colorado Rapids); as well as forward Juan Pablo Angel (New York Red Bulls).

MLS Commissioner Don Garber selected forwards Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo) and Jaime Moreno (D.C. United) as the two "Commissioner's picks."

Arena and his staff will select the starters based on player availability and tactical considerations. Under the CBA, a total of 32 players will be named All-Stars. After the 23-man game day roster, the remaining nine players receiving that title will come from the weighted voting, but will be inactive for the All-Star Game. The inactive, or alternate All-Star roster, will be announced at a later date.

2010 AT&T MLS All-Star Game Roster:

Goalkeepers: Donovan Ricketts (LA Galaxy)*, Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake) &

Defenders: Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy)*, Chad Marshall (Columbus Crew) *, Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake)*, Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA) &, Heath Pearce (FC Dallas) &, Wilman Conde (Chicago Fire) &, Kevin Alston (New England Revolution) &.

Midfielders: Dwayne De Rosario (Toronto FC) *, Marco Pappa (Chicago Fire)* Javier Morales (Real Salt Lake) *, Guillermo Barros Schelotto (Columbus Crew) *, Sebastian LeToux (Philadelphia Union) &, David Ferreira (FC Dallas) &, Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo) &, Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution) &, Jeff Larentowicz (Colorado Rapids) &.

Forwards: Edson Buddle (LA Galaxy) *, Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy) *, Juan Pablo Angel (New York Red Bulls) &, Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo) +, Jaime Moreno (D.C. United) +

Unavailable: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake)

* Denotes selection to First XI Team

+ Denotes a Commissioner's Selection

& Denotes Coach's Selection


While at Brown, Larentowicz helped guide the Bears to two Ivy League Championships and scored seven goals and six assists. A two-time second-team NSCAA All-America selection and a four-time All-Ivy performer, Larentowicz was selected by the New England Revolution in the fourth round (45th overall) in the 2005 MLS Supplemental Draft. In his five seasons with the Revolution, Larentowicz climbed into ninth place on the Revs' all-time games started list (103) and minutes played list (9, 305). He joined the Colorado Rapids on Jan. 21, 2010.