Jordan Burke Repeats As Ivy League Lacrosse Player of the Year; Five Brown Laxers Named All-Ivy

Jordan Burke Repeats As  Ivy League Lacrosse Player of the Year; Five Brown Laxers Named All-Ivy

May 6, 2009

Providence, Rhode Island - Brown senior All-American goalie Jordan Burke (Potomac, MD) has been named the Ivy League Player of the Year for the second straight season after leading the Bears to their first NCAA Playoff appearance in 12 years. Joining Burke as First Team All-Ivy selections are junior attackman Thomas Muldoon (Oakton, VA) and sophomore defenseman Peter Fallon (Baltimore, MD). Sophomore attackman Andrew Feinberg (Owing Mills, MD) was named a second team All-Ivy selection, while senior midfielder Brady Williams (Columbus, OH) earned honorable mention All-Ivy honors.

Burke etched his name into Ivy League Lacrosse history as the first player in the illustrious history of Ivy League men's lacrosse to win back-to-back Player of the Year awards. He is the third two-time Ivy League Player of the Year, joining Cornell's Eamon McEneaney, who was named in 1975 and 1977, and Princeton's Ryan Doyle, who was selected in 2002 and 2004.

He is also the ninth player in Brown history to be named Ivy League Player of the Year, joining Mark Farnham (1979), Tad Barrows (1980), Bill Aliber (1983), Darren Muller (1985), Tom Gagnon (1986), Darren Lowe (1992), Andy Towers (1993) and David Evans (1995).

Burke is a finalist for both the Tewaarton Award as the National Player of the Year, and the Lowe's Senior Class Award for achievement on the field, in the classroom and in the community. A second team USILA All-American and the New England Player of the Year in 2008, Burke is the Ivy League leader in saves per game (12.33) and save percentage (.617), fifth best in the nation. He was named the Ivy League Player of the Week for the second time after making 18 saves, including seven in the fourth quarter, in Brown's 11-9 win over #2 Cornell.

Muldoon was named a first team All-Ivy selection for the second straight season. One of the most lethal scorers in the Ivy League, he scored 32 goals for the Bears, while handing out 11 assists. His 85 career goals are 13th best in Brown lacrosse history. He has compiled 109 career points for the Bears by adding 27 career assists. Muldoon scored four or more goals four times this season in games vs. Delaware, Bryant, Yale and Providence.

Fallon had a break-out season for the Bears, helping the Brown defense limit its opponents to just 8.07 goals per game, 15th best in the nation. He also led the Bears with 3.53 ground balls per game. Fallon had an exceptional summer leading up to the 2009 season, being named to the All-World Team and the Defenseman of the Tournament for Team USA at the Under-19 World Championships.

Feinberg, the 2008 New England Rookie of the Year, is second in the Ivy League and seventh nationally in goals with 2.67 per game. His 40 total goals lead the Ivy League. Feinberg is also second in the Ivy League in points (3.86 per game), seventh nationally. He scored four goals twice (Dartmouth, Bryant) and three goals nine times (Lehigh, Hofstra, Quinnipiac, Denver, Vermont, Yale, Harvard, Providence and Cornell).

Williams is Brown's fifth leading scorer with 31 points (17 goals, 14 assists). He scored three goals and an assist in Brown's win over Providence and registered a hat-trick in Brown's victory over Denver. Williams also handed out a season high three assists against Lehigh.

The Bears will take on Johns Hopkins in the first round of the NCAA Lacrosse Championship on Saturday, May 9 at 12:00 noon. The game will be televised live on ESPN2 and ESPNU.

Men's Lacrosse All-Ivy -- 2009

PLAYER OF THE YEAR Jordan Burke, Brown (Sr., Potomac, Md.)

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR Rob Pannell, Cornell (So., Smithtown, N.Y.)

FIRST TEAM Attack Thomas Muldoon, Brown (Jr., Oakton, Va.) Rob Pannell, Cornell (So., Smithtown, N.Y.) Jack McBride, Princeton (So., Madison, N.J.)

Midfield John Glynn, Cornell (Sr., Lindenhurst, N.Y.) *Max Seibald, Cornell (Sr., Hewlett, N.Y.) Mark Kovler, Princeton (Sr., Washington, D.C.)

Defense Peter Fallon, Brown (So., Baltimore, Md.) Matt Moyer, Cornell (Sr., Chadds Ford, Pa.) Chad Wiedmaier, Princeton (Chatam, N.J.)

Goalie *Jordan Burke, Brown (Sr., Potomac, Md.)

* unanimous selection

SECOND TEAM Attack Andrew Feinberg, Brown (So., Owing Mills, Md.) Ryan Hurley, Cornell (Jr., Eagan, Minn.) Craig Andrzejewski, Penn (Sr., Parkton, Md.) Tom Davis, Princeton (Levittown, N.Y.)

Midfield Jason Duboe, Harvard (Jr., Long Grove, Ill.) Rich Sgalardi, Princeton (Garden City, N.Y.) Mike Karwoski, Yale (Sr., Greenlawn, N.Y.)

Defense Casey Hingtgen, Dartmouth (Jr., Carlsbad, Calif.) Sam Slaughter, Harvard (Sr., Wilton, Conn.) Will Gano, Yale (Sr., Summit, N.J.)

Goalie Tyler Fiorito, Princeton (Fr., Phoenix, Md.)

HONORABLE MENTION Attack Jeff Cohen, Harvard (Fr., Syosset, N.Y.) Dean Gibbons, Harvard (So., Garden City, N.Y.) Brendan Gibson, Yale (Jr., Point Lookout, N.Y.)

Midfield Brady Williams, Brown (Sr., Columbus, Ohio) Drew Collins, Penn (Sr., LaPlata, Md.) Scott Mackenzie, Princeton (Jr., Livingston, Mont.)

Defense Billy Geist, Harvard (Jr., Arnold, Md.) Chris Peyser, Princeton (Sr., Manhasset, N.Y.)

Goalie Jake Myers, Cornell (Sr., Del Mar, Calif.)