Danis Named To New England Hockey Writers Association All-Star Team

Danis Named To New England Hockey Writers Association All-Star Team

April 5, 2002

Boston, MA - Sophomore goalie Yann Danis (Lafontaine, QUE) added another honor to his list of accomplishments. He was named one of 12 members of the 2001-2002 New England Hockey Writers Association All-Star Team.

Mike Morrison of Maine joins Danis as the other goalie to be honored. A Second Team All-ECAC and First Team All-Ivy selection, Danis posted a league-leading .938, save percentage, fourth all-time in the ECAC, and a 1.86 goals against average, third in the conference. A two-time ECAC Goalie of the Week and one time ECAC Player of the Week, Danis also earned USCHO Defensive Player of the Week honors twice this season.

He posted three shutouts, tying the school record for shutouts in a season, while his goals against average and save percentage broke the Brown season record for each of those categories. His stats reached as high as 3rd in the nation for goals against average and as high as 2nd in the country for save percentage, while currently standing at 5th and 2nd respectively.

Danis and the 11 other All-Star selections, along with Coach of the Year selection, Dick Umile, of New Hampshire, will be formally recognized at the 2002 New England Hockey Writers Association Banquet, which will be held at the Prince of Pizza Restaurant in Saugus, MA on Wednesday, April 10. Contact John Bishop at Northeastern University ( 617-373-4458) for further details.

Darren Haydar F New Hampshire 
Colin Hemingway F New Hampshire
Niko Dimitrakos F Maine
Chris Higgins F Yale
Tony Voce F Boston College
Anthony Aquino F Merrimack
Jim Fahey D Northeastern
Peter Metcalf D Maine
Peter Capouch D Harvard
Chris Dyment D Boston University
Mike Morrison G Maine
Yann Danis G Brown

Coach of the Year Dick Umile, New Hampshire