21 Men's Icers on ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

21 Men's Icers on ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

March 14, 2008

Albany, NY - The Brown men's ice hockey team had a league-high 21 student-athletes selected to the 2008 ECAC Men's All-Academic Team. Rensselaer was next with 18, while Colgate and Harvard each had 15 student-athletes selected to the 153-member team. Seniors Paul Baier (North Kingstown, RI), Sean Hurley (Rutland, VT), and David Robertson (Saunderstown, RI), who is also one of seven nominees for the ECAC Student-Athlete of the Year, were three of the 29 three-time selections to the team, while Brown also had 12 of the 81 student-athletes who were recognized for the second straight year.

Players are eligible for the All-Academic Team if they have a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA of 3.00 over the past three semesters. Freshmen were eligible for the team for the first time last season and remain eligible for the team.

In addition to Baier, Hurley, and Robertson, classmates Chris Poli (Medfield, MA) and Jeff Prough (Farmington Hills, MI) are also on the team, earning the honor for the second straight year, as all five members of the Class of 2008 were recognized. Juniors on this year's team include two-time honorees Sean Muncy (Chesterfield, MO), Matt Palmer (Anchorage, AK), Mark Sibbald (Ridgeway, ONT), Eric Slais (Fenton, MO), and Matt Vokes (Auburn, MA). Classmates Mike Stuart (Rome, NY) and Ryan Garbutt (Winnipeg, MAN) have earned the honor for the first time in their career.

The sophomore class includes two-time honorees Jordan Pietrus (Vermillion, ALB), Dan Rosen (Syosset, NY), Devin Timberlake (Port Alberni, BC), Scott Van der Linden (Antigonish, NS), and Aaron Volpatti (Revelstoke, BC). Sean McMonagle (Oakville, ONT) also was recognized for the first time this season.

Three of Brown's freshmen, David Brownschidle (Lawrenceville, NJ), Sean Connauton (Edmonton, ALB), and Jesse Fratkin (Burnaby, BC) were also honored.

2008 Brown ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team Selections
Paul Baier, Sr., International Relations ^*
David Brownschidle, Fr., Undeclared
Sean Connauton, Fr., Undeclared
Jesse Fratkin, Fr., Undeclared
Ryan Garbutt, Jr., Sociology
Sean Hurley, Sr., History ^*
Sean McMonagle, So., Undeclared
Sean Muncy, Jr., Sociology *
Matt Palmer, Jr., Engineering *
Jordan Pietrus, So., Undeclared *
Chris Poli, Sr., International Relations *
Jeff Prough, Sr., International Relations *
David Robertson, Sr., International Relations ^*
Dan Rosen, So., Undeclared *
Mark Sibbald, Jr., Commerce, Organizations, & Entrepreneurship *
Eric Slais, Jr., Sociology *
Mike Stuart, Jr., Political Science
Devin Timberlake, So., Undeclared *
Scott Van der Linden, So., Undeclared *
Matt Vokes, Jr., Economics *
Aaron Volpatti, So., Undeclared *
^ 2005-2006 selection
* 2006-2007 selection