Yann Danis '04 Will Start In Goal For NY Islanders Against Boston Bruins On Thursday, January 15

Yann Danis '04 Will Start In Goal For NY Islanders Against Boston Bruins On Thursday, January 15

Jan. 14, 2009

Providence, RI - Brown and New England ice hockey fans will have an opportunity to renew acquaintances with one of the best collegiate goalies ever to play in New England, when former Brown standout Yann Danis starts in goal for the New York Islanders against the Boston Bruins on Thursday, January 15. The game will be televised live on the New England Sports Network (NESN), starting at 7:00 p.m. from the Nassau Coliseum in Uniondale, New York.

Danis was recently called up by the Islanders from its Bridgeport (AHL) affiliate. He allowed two goals in a 2-1 loss to the NY Rangers on January 13. He also earned some starts for the Islanders in late November and early December.

A runner-up for the 2004 Hobey Baker Award as a senior at Brown, Danis originally signed with the Montreal Canadian organization. He appeared in six NHL games with Montreal, earning a record of 3-2-0-0, with a 2.69 goals against average and .908 save percentage. While playing for the Hamilton Bulldogs (AHL), he was named co-MVP of the 2006 Reebok Hockey AHL All-Star Classic.

As a senior at Brown in 2003-2004, the netminder from St. Jerome, QC, posted a 15-11-4 record along with a 1.81 GAA and .942 save percentage that ranked third and second in the nation, respectively. On the strength of those numbers and a season that helped lead Brown to its best ECAC finish since 1995, Danis ended the year under a shower of accolades, earning First Team Jofa All-American honors, INCH.com First Team All-America honors, All-USCHO First Team honors, New England Hockey Writers Association All-Star honors, and First Team All-ECAC and First Team All-Ivy honors.

In addition, he was named the 2004 ECAC Player and Goaltender of the Year, the USCHO Defensive Player of the Year, and the Ivy League Player of the Year. He also took home the Leonard Fowle Award as the MVP of New England, as voted on by the New England Hockey Writers Association.