Brown Athletics Launches Hobey Baker Campaign

Brown Athletics Launches Hobey Baker Campaign

Jan. 8, 2004

Senior Yann Danis (Saint Jerome, Que) has seen over 2,600 shots in his career between the pipes for the Brown men's hockey team. He now has his sights set on college hockey's top individual prize, the Hobey Baker Award.

Danis currently leads the nation in save percentage (.954), goals against average (1.42) and shutouts (4), while leading his team to eight wins. Through the first half the of the Bears' season, Danis has already been awarded:

* The November Hockey Commissioners' Association player of the Month
* Two-Time USCHO Defensive Player of the Week
* The Player of the Week
* The ECAC Player of the Week
* Three-time ECAC Goalie of the Week

An All American in 2002, Danis currently holds the Brown records for; career shutouts (12), single-season shutouts (5), single-season saves (1,043), consecutive home wins (10) save percentage in a season (.938) and goals against average in a season (1.86).

In support of Yann's run for the Hobey Baker Award, Brown Athletics has begun a campaign designed to inform the voters and hockey fans around the country. The premier component is the recently launched This comprehensive web site is designed to keep readers up to date on all developments of Danis' season. Key components include links to national and game by game statistics, career highlights, news clippings, the Brown hockey schedule, what people are saying around the league, and much more. Fans can also get access through the Brown Athletics official web site, .

"Yann is the guy who has had made the biggest impact on the resurgence of Brown hockey, " said head Coach Roger Grillo. "His combination of talent, character, personality and commitment to being a student athlete makes him the prototypical Hobey Baker candidate. He's the best player I've had the opportunity to coach."

The Hobey Baker Award is given annually to college hockey's Most Valuable Player. Finalists for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award are determined by an initial round of balloting by all 58 Division I college coaches; the top 10 names then advance to the award's selection committee, a geographically balanced group of 24 members composed of media, NHL scouts, college hockey coaches and supervisors of officials. A fan vote hosted by and conducted online at allows college hockey fans a one-percent vote in each round of balloting.

To place your Hobey Baker Vote, log on to and click on the "help Yann win" link on the left, or go directly to The ten Hobey finalists will be named in March and the winner announced at the NCAA Frozen Four Tournament in April.

In the 21-year history of the Award, only two goaltenders have received the honor; Michigan State's Ryan Miller (2001) and Minnesota's Robb Stauber (1988).