Naclerio Named Semifinalist For Walter Brown Award

Naclerio Named Semifinalist For Walter Brown Award

BOSTON – Sophomore Mark Naclerio (Milford, Conn.) of the Brown University men's hockey team was recently named one of 16 semifinalists for the 62nd Walter Brown Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England, announced by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston. 

Naclerio is in the midst of a career year with the Bears, as he leads the team offensively with 14 goals and 15 assists for 29 points. Naclerio, a two-time ECAC Player of the Week selection, ranks ninth in the nation in points per game (1.38) and has recorded eight multiple-point games this season. He also ranks fourth in the conference in goals scored and second in game-winning tallies with four.

Naclerio was one of six semifinalists from the ECAC, along with freshman Sam Anas and senior Jordan Samuels-Thomas of Quinnipiac, seniors Kenny Agostino and Jesse Root of Yale, and sophomore Jimmy Vesey of Harvard.

The nation's oldest nationally recognized college hockey honor, the Walter Brown Award was established in 1953 by the members of the 1933 Massachusetts Rangers, the first American team ever to win the World Championship Tournament. Brown coached the Rangers to the title in Prague, Czechoslovakia, that year; the team defeated Canada 2-1 in overtime in the championship game.

"The number of high-quality Division One hockey programs in New England has been growing for the past ten years or so.  That has made it much more challenging than it used to be to select a roster of semifinalists for the Walter Brown Award. As usual, many players from all three leagues whose names do not appear here have played well enough to merit consideration," said Gridiron Club Hockey Awards Committee chairman Tim Costello.

The Gridiron Club will announce the finalists and winner of the 62nd Walter Brown Award in March, following league playoffs and before the start of NCAA Tournament play. The award will be presented to the winner at the New England College Hockey Writers' Dinner in April.