Men's Hockey Recognizes Five with Team Awards

Men's Hockey Recognizes Five with Team Awards

PROVIDENCE, RI - The Brown men's hockey team held its annual season-ending banquet on Tuesday April 23 at the Faculty Club on the Brown campus. Five different individuals were honored with team awards, while members of the Class of 2013, the Class of 2015, and the Class of 2016 received their letter sweaters. The six seniors – Anthony Borelli (Grand Island, NY), Richie Crowley (Canton, MA), Francis Drolet (Lachine, QUE), Jeff Ryan (Media, PA), Marc Senecal (North Bay, ONT), and Chris Zaires (Aberdeen, NJ), along with manager Trevor Smyth '13 (Calgary, ALB), were also recognized for their invaluable contributions to the Brown men's hockey program throughout the past four years.

The Class of 1936 Trophy (Most Valuable Player) is presented annually to that member of the varsity hockey team who, through sportsmanship, performance and influence, contributed most to the sport at Brown. 2013 Award Recipient: Anthony Borelli '13 (Grand Island, NY).

The Charles A. Lanigan Memorial Trophy (Brown Hockey Association Award) honors the late Brown hockey trainer and is given to the senior hockey player who shows the most improvement during his varsity career. 2013 Award Recipient: Jeff Ryan '13 (Media, PA).

The Patrick S. Jones Memorial Trophy (Coaches' Award) is awarded in honor of the former Brown hockey player and is given to that member of the team who generates the most spark and enthusiasm in building team spirit. 2013 Award Recipient: Francis Drolet '13 (Lachine, QUE). 

The Charles A. Robinson Memorial Trophy, awarded for academic excellence, honors the late Brown classics professor and is given annually to the hockey letterman attaining the highest academic average for the first seven semesters. 2013 Award Recipient: Marc Senecal '13 (North Bay, ONT)

The James H. Fullerton Memorial Trophy, established in 1998 and named in memory of the legendary Coach Fullerton who led the Bears from 1955-1970, this award recognizes the first-year player who, in the eyes of his teammates, contributed most to the success of the team. 2013 Award Recipient: Mark Naclerio '16 (Milford, CT).

Pictured: Jeff Ryan '13 and Head Coach Brendan Whittet '94.