Zolnierczyk Named Ivy League Player of the Year; Robertson also Named All-Ivy

Zolnierczyk Named Ivy League Player of the Year; Robertson also Named All-Ivy

PRINCETON, NJ – Brown senior captain Harry Zolnierczyk (Toronto, ONT) has been named the 2011 Ivy League Player of the Year, earning a spot on the All-Ivy First team, while freshman defenseman Dennis Robertson (Fort St. John, BC) has been named Second Team All-Ivy in a vote by the League's six head coaches. Zolnierczyk is just the fourth-ever Brown player to earn Player of the Year honors and the first since 2004 when Yann Danis '04 earned the recognition. In addition to Danis, he joins former Brown Ivy Players of the Year Mike Brewer '92 and Ryan Mulhern '96.

Zolnierczyk enters Brown's playoff series at Quinnipiac leading the team in both points (31) and goals (16), in addition to power play goals (6), game-winning goals (3), and short-handed goals (2). In 10 Ivy League games, Zolnierczyk finished the year tied for first in Ivy games only with 11 points (8g, 3a), while leading the League with 8 goals. A four-year contributor up front, Zolnierczyk was one of Brown's most dangerous offensive threats over the past two seasons. Since the fall of 2009, he has compiled 64 points on 29 goals and 35 assists. A valuable part of Brown's special teams, he has 19 career power play points, including 6-4-10 numbers this season. A two-time ECAC Player of the Week this season, Zolnierczyk has posted at least 30 points for the second straight year, and last year was part of a trio of players to finish the year with at least 30 points, marking the first time since 1993-94 that Brown had three 30-point scorers. In 113 career games, Zolnierczyk has 69 points on 30 goals and 39 assists.

Robertson developed into one of the Bears' most reliable defensemen this season, playing in 28 of 29 games. A powerful two-way defenseman, Robertson is equally effective on both sides of the puck, finishing the regular season ranked fourth overall on the team in scoring with 17 points (6g, 11a), totals that led all Brown defensemen and rookies. His 17 points rank third all-time at Brown for points in a season by a rookie defenseman, while his six goals is the Brown record for goals in a season by a rookie defenseman and his 11 assists is ninth for assists in a season by a rookie defenseman. Robertson was a vital part of Brown's special teams, playing on the first power play and posting five power play goals and 11 power play points.

Zolnierczyk, Robertson, and the rest of the team return to action this Friday when they begin a best-of-three First Round series at Quinnipiac. The Bears finished in ninth place during the regular season and will face the eighth-seeded Bobcats on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday (if necessary). All games begin at 7:00 p.m.

Tickets for the series are available by calling Brown's ticket office until 4:00 p.m. Thursday at 401-863-2773 or at the Quinnipiac ticket office at 203-582-3905. Prices are $15.00.

2010-11 Ivy League Men's Hockey Postseason Awards
First Team All-Ivy

Forward – Harry Zolnierczyk, Brown (Sr., Toronto, Ontario)
Forward – Andrew Calof, Princeton (Fr., Nepean, Ontario
Forward – Broc Little, Yale (Sr., Rindge, New Hampshire)
Forward – Andrew Miller, Yale (So., Bloomfield Hills, Michigan)
Defense – Danny Biega, Harvard (So., Montreal, Quebec)
Defense – Taylor Fedun, Princeton (Sr., Edmonton, Alberta)
Goalie – *James Mello, Dartmouth (Jr., Rehoboth, Massachusetts)

Second Team All-Ivy
Forward – Scott Fleming, Dartmouth (Sr., Plainfield, Ontario)
Forward – Alex Killorn, Harvard (Jr., Montreal, Quebec)
Forward – Chris Cahill, Yale (Sr., North Andover, Massachusetts)
Defense – Dennis Robertson, Brown (Fr., Fort St. John, British Columbia)
Defense – Nick D'Agostino, Cornell (So., Bolton, Ontario)
Defense – Joe Stejskal, Dartmouth (Sr., Grand Rapids, Minnesota)
Defense – Jimmy Martin, Yale (Sr., St. Louis, Missouri)
Goalie – Ryan Rondeau, Yale (Sr., Carvel, Alberta)

Honorable Mention All-Ivy
Forward – Adam Estoclet, Dartmouth (Sr., Orono, Minnesota)
Forward – Matt Lindblad, Dartmouth (Fr., Winnetka, Illinois)
Forward – Mike Kramer, Princeton (Sr., St. Paul, Minnesota)
Forward – Brian O'Neill, Yale (Sr., Yardley, Pennsylvania)
Goalie – Andy Iles, Cornell (Fr., Ithaca, New York)

Player of the Year
Harry Zolnierczyk, Brown (Sr., F, Toronto, Ontario)

Co-Rookies of the Year
Matt Lindblad, Dartmouth (Fr., F, Winnetka, Illinois)
Andrew Calof, Princeton (Fr., F, Nepean, Ontario)

* Unanimous selection

Pictured: Harry Zolnierczyk '11 (left) and Dennis Robertson '14. Photos by DSPics.net.