Bob Gaudreau ’66 Named to ECAC All-Time Top 50

Bob Gaudreau ’66 Named to ECAC All-Time Top 50

ALBANY, N.Y. -- As part of its 50th anniversary celebration, ECAC Hockey has comprised a group of its top 50 players to recognize the storied history of the League and honor its significant players.  The League today announced the sixth installment of honorees as part of its top 50 players of all-time.  The top 50 players were determined by a selection committee made up of former coaches and media members.  These honorees were tallied from 145 players (47 defensemen; 73 forwards; and 25 goaltenders). Bob Gaudreau '66 is included in the sixth installment, joining Brown alum Yann Danis '04, who was recognized in the third installment of the All-Time Top 50.

The sixth segment of honorees includes:  Brown defenseman Bob Gaudreau, a three­time all conference member (First Team 1965­66 and Second Team 1964), who won the Walter Brown Award in 1965, presented to the Outstanding American­Born player in New England; Jeff Halpern, forward at Princeton, who led the Tigers to their first ECAC Hockey Championship Title (1998) and first NCAA Championship appearance (1998); Peter Lappin, forward, St. Lawrence, two­time all­America selection (First Team 1988 and Second Team 1987), who led the Saints in scoring for three consecutive season (1986­1988); Rensselaer forward Adam Oates, a member of the 1985 NCAA Championship team, who compiled 216 points in 98 career collegiate con­ tests and ranks among the all­time NCAA leaders in assists per game with 1.53; and Jack O'Callahan, defenseman, Boston University, one of only 12 Terriers to register 100­plus career assists (102) and was named the 1978 NCAA Tournament Most Valuable Player.

Bob Gaudreau - Brown University - Defenseman, (1964-66) – Providence, Rhode Island
Two-­Time All-­America (1965­66) ... 1966 ECAC Hockey Defensive Defenseman of Year ... 1964 All­Conference Second Team ... Three-­Time All­-Conference (First Team 1965­66; Second Team 1964) ... 1966 ECAC Hockey First-­Team All­-Tournament ... Recipient of 1965 Walter Brown Award ­­ Presented to Outstanding American­-Born College Player in New England … First and Only Brown player to Receive Award ... Totaled 35 Career Goals, second-­highest total among Defenseman in School History ... Member of 1968 U.S. Olympic Team ... Brown Hall of Fame member ... Scored 12 goals in both 1965 and 1966 ranking 4th all­-time for goals in a season by a defenseman at Brown ... His 33 points in 1966 is 8th all-­time for points in a season by a defenseman ... His 55 career assists is 8th all­-time for assists in a career by a defenseman (27th all­-time) at Brown ... Totaled 90 career points which is 4th all­-time in a career by a defenseman at Brown.

All current and former teams' impactful players, including those from Boston College, Boston University, New Hampshire, Middlebury, Army, etc. were reviewed in comprising the list of candidates for the special team.  Five players from the top 50 all-time team will be released every two weeks throughout the season leading up the championship in March 18-19 in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Throughout its history, ECAC Hockey has been home to seven NCAA men's championship teams, witnessed over 15,000 games, produced more than 500 National Hockey Leaguers, nearly 300 All-Americans, three Hobey Baker Memorial Award winners, and over 1,100 student-athletes who have earned All-Academic honors since 1999-00, the first year the League recognized these individuals.

The first group of top 50 players released on November 11 included the following:  Bob Brinkworth, forward at Rensselaer (1961-64); Ken Dryden, Cornell goaltender (1967-69); defenseman Mark Fusco, Harvard (1980-83); Brian Mueller, defenseman, Clarkson (1991-95); and Boston College forward Joe Mullen.  The League released the second segment of players on November 24 which included the following; defenseman Ray Giroux, Yale (1994-98); Joe Juneau forward Rensselaer (1987-91); Colgate forward Andy McDonald (1996-00); Joe Nieuwendyk, foward Cornell (1984-87); and defenseman Ron Wilson, Providence (1973-77).

The top 50 players were determined by a vote of a selection committee of 10 individuals, which include Joe Bertagna, former student-athlete at Harvard, former hockey commissioner of the ECAC and current commissioner of Hockey East; Ed Carpenter, former Sports Information Director at Boston U.; Bill Cleary, former student-athlete, head coach and director of athletics at Harvard; John Connolly, long-time sports reporter at the Boston Herald; Dan Fridgen, former student-athlete at Colgate and former head coach at RPI; Mike Gilligan, former head coach at Yale (interim) and Vermont; Lou Lamoriello, former student-athlete and head coach at Providence and current CEO/President/General Manager of the New Jersey Devils; Mark Morris, former student-athlete at Colgate and former head coach at Clarkson; Tim Taylor, former student-athlete at Harvard and former head coach at Yale; and Adam Wodon, editor of the College Hockey News Web site.