Yann Danis Named to ECAC All-Time Top 50

Yann Danis Named to ECAC All-Time Top 50

ALBANY, N.Y. -- As part of its 50th anniversary celebration, ECAC Hockey has comprised a group of its top 50 players to recognize the storied history of the League and honor its significant players.  The League today announced the third installment of honorees as part of its top 50 players of all-time.  The top 50 players were determined by a selection committee made up of former coaches and media members.  These honorees were tallied from 145 players (47 defensemen; 73 forwards; and 25 goaltenders). 

The third segment of honorees includes:  Harvard forward Joe Cavanagh, a three-time ECAC Hockey All-Conference team honoree and a member of the U.S. Hockey Hockey Hall of Fame; Yann Danis, goaltender at Brown, a two-time all-America and one of two goaltenders (Dave LeNeveu, Cornell) to win both Player and Goaltender of the Year in League history; Dave Fretz, a defenseman at Clarkson, a 2004 inductee into Clarkson's Athletic Hall of Fame and member of all-Decade team (1980-89); Dan Laperriere, defenseman at St. Lawrence, the Saints' all-time leading scorer among defenseman in career scoring (128 points) and assists (106) and single season scoring (53 points in 1992) and assists (45 in 1992); and Vermont forward Martin St. Louis, a three-time all-America first team selection who is the Catamounts all-time leading scorer in assists (176) and points (267). 

Yann Danis - Brown University - Goaltender, (2000-04) - Lafontaine, Quebec

Two-Time All-America (2002 and 2004) ... 2000-09 ECAC Hockey All-Decade First Team ... 2004 ECAC Hockey Player of Year ... 2004 ECAC Hockey Goaltender of Year ... One of Only Two (2) Goaltenders (David LeNeveu, Cornell) to Win Both Player and Goaltender of Year ... Three-Time All-Conference (First Team 2004; Second Team 2002-03) ... 2003 ECAC Hockey All-Tournament Team ... Top-Three Finalist for 2004 Hobey Baker Memorial Award ... Two-Time ECAC Hockey Save Percentage Champion (2002: .943; 2004: .948) ... Brown's All-Time Career Leader in Goals-Against Average (2.20), Save Percentage (.930) and Shutouts (13) ... Holds Brown's Single-Season Marks in Saves (1,043 in 2003), Goals-Against Average (1.81 in 2004), Save Percentage (.942 in 2004) and Shutouts (5 in 2003 and 2004) ... Three-Time Recipient of Brown's The Class of 1936 Trophy (Most Valuable Player) ... Co-Recipient of Brown's 2001 Kevin R. Pope Memorial Trophy -- Presented to First-Year Player Who Contributed Most to Team's Success ... Played Three (3) Seasons in National Hockey League (NHL) with Montreal Canadiens, New York Islanders and New Jersey Devils ... Appeared in 49 NHL Contests Posting Goals-Against Average of 2.69, Save Percentage of .912 and Three (3) Shutouts

All current and former teams' impactful players, including those from Boston College, Boston University, New Hampshire, Middlebury, Army, etc... were reviewed in comprising the list of candidates for the special team.  Five players from the top 50 all-time team will be released every two weeks throughout the season leading up the championship in March 18-19 in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Throughout its history, ECAC Hockey has been home to seven NCAA men's championship teams, witnessed over 15,000 games, produced more than 500 National Hockey Leaguers, nearly 300 All-Americans, three Hobey Baker Memorial Award winners, and over 1,100 student-athletes who have earned All-Academic honors since 1999-00, the first year the League recognized these individuals.

The first group of top 50 players released on November 11 included the following:  Bob Brinkworth, forward at Rensselaer (1961-64); Ken Dryden, Cornell goaltender (1967-69); defenseman Mark Fusco, Harvard (1980-83); Brian Mueller, defenseman, Clarkson (1991-95); and Boston College forward Joe Mullen.  The League released the second segment of players on November 24 which included the following; defenseman Ray Giroux, Yale (1994-98); Joe Juneau forward Rensselaer (1987-91); Colgate forward Andy McDonald (1996-00); Joe Nieuwendyk, foward Cornell (1984-87); and defenseman Ron Wilson, Providence (1973-77).

The top 50 players were determined by a vote of a selection committee of 10 individuals, which include Joe Bertagna, former student-athlete at Harvard, former hockey commissioner of the ECAC and current commissioner of Hockey East; Ed Carpenter, former Sports Information Director at Boston U.; Bill Cleary, former student-athlete, head coach and director of athletics at Harvard; John Connolly, long-time sports reporter at the Boston Herald; Dan Fridgen, former student-athlete at Colgate and former head coach at RPI; Mike Gilligan, former head coach at Yale (interim) and Vermont; Lou Lamoriello, former student-athlete and head coach at Providence and current CEO/President/General Manager of the New Jersey Devils; Mark Morris, former student-athlete at Colgate and former head coach at Clarkson; Tim Taylor, former student-athlete at Harvard and former head coach at Yale; and Adam Wodon, editor of the College Hockey News Web site.

Full List of Third Installment Honorees