Bears Open Pre-Season Camp Amidst Optimism

Aug. 20, 2008

Providence, RI - Brown head football coach Phil Estes will welcome 110 players to the beginning of pre-season football camp armed with the return of nine All-Ivy players, 18 starters and a keen eye on the Ivy League title. The Bears, who were chosen third in the Ivy League pre-season media poll, will undergo physical testing on Thursday, August 21 at 10:00 a.m., with full practice beginning on Saturday, August 23, featuring split squad practices at 8:30 a.m. and 10:40 a.m.

Brown fans can get a preview of the 2008 squad on Friday, September 5, when the Bears host both Columbia and Union in a pre-season scrimmage at the Berylson Family Fields, beginning at 12:00 noon. Estes' squad will open its 131st season of intercollegiate play at home against Stony Brook on Saturday, September 20, and will launch its Ivy League schedule at home against Harvard on Saturday, September 27, in the 107th meeting between the two Ancient Eight schools.

This year's squad features the return of the nation's fourth leading passing offense (310 yards per game), and the Ivy League's top passing offense, total offense (424.2 yards per game) and scoring offense (31.2 points per game). In addition, the Bears return some of the Ivy League's top skill players on offense, including second team All-Ivy senior quarterback Michael Dougherty, the Ivy League's top passer and the nation's third leading passer a year ago, junior first team All-Ivy and All-New England wide receiver Buddy Farnham, who led the Ivy League in receptions, and junior second team All-Ivy wide receiver Bobby Sewall, a triple receiving, passing and running threat, who was the Ivy League's second leading wide receiver with 7.56 receptions per game.

Brown's defense will be led by Darrell Harrison, an All-Ivy senior co-captain, who was among the national leaders in interceptions and passes defended a year ago, junior second team All-Ivy defensive end James Develin, who led the Ivy League and ranked 34th in the nation in tackles for a loss with 13.5 tackles for a loss of 51 yards, and senior All-Ivy linebacker Jon May, who led Brown, ranked second in the Ivy League, and ranked sixth in the nation with 6.1 solo tackles peer game

BROWN FOOTBALL -  2008 PRE-SEASON PRACTICE SCHEDULE
Friday, August 22	10:00 a.m.	Physical Testing
			2:00 p.m.	Physical Testing

Saturday, August 23 8:30 a.m. Split Practice 10:40 a.m. Split Practice

Sunday, August 24 8:30 a.m. Split Practice 10:40 a.m. Split Practice

Monday, August 25 8:30 a.m. Split Practice 10:40 a.m. Split Practice

Tuesday, August 26 8:30 a.m. Split Practice 10:40 a.m. Split Practice

Wednesday, August 27 9:00 a.m. Practice - Full squad 7:00 p.m. Practice - Full squad

Thursday, August 28 2:00 p.m. Practice - Full squad

Friday, August 29 9:00 a.m. Practice - Full squad 7:00 p.m. Practice - Full squad

Saturday, August 30 2:00 p.m. Practice - Full squad - Scrimmage

Sunday, August 31 9:00 a.m. Practice - Full squad

Monday, September 1 9:00 a.m. Practice - Full squad 1:30 p.m. Team Photo Day (media invited) Brown Stadium

Tuesday, September 2 1:00 p.m. Practice - Full squad

Wednesday, September 3 First Day of Classes 3:30 p.m. Practice - Full squad

Thursday, September 4 3:30 p.m. Practice - Full squad

Friday, September 5 12:00 noon Scrimmage vs. Columbia/Union

Saturday, September 6 TBA

Sunday, September 7 2:00 p.m. Practice - Full squad

All practices are held at the Burylson Family Fields, located at the Erickson Athletic Complex, unless otherwise noted

2008 Brown Football Schedule

9/20 Sat. STONY BROOK 12:30 p.m. 9/27 Sat. HARVARD * 12:30 p.m. 10/4 Sat. at Rhode Island (TV - NESN) 1:00 p.m. 10/11 Sat. at Holy Cross 1:00 p.m. 10/18 Sat. at Princeton 1:00 p.m. 10/25 Sat. CORNELL ** 12:30 p.m. 11/1 Sat. at Penn (TV -Versus) 12:00 p.m. 11/8 Sat. YALE (TV- YES) 12:30 p.m. 11/15 Sat. at Dartmouth 12:30 p.m. 11/22 Sat. COLUMBIA 12:30 p.m.

* Homecoming ** Family Weekend