Nick Hartigan Earns NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

Nick Hartigan Earns NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

March 9, 2006

Indianapolis, Indiana - Brown University senior Nick Hartigan (Fairfax Station, VA) has been awarded an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship, becoming the first Brown football player since 1994 to earn the prestigious award.

The NCAA awarded 58 postgraduate scholarships of $7,500 each to 29 male student-athletes and 29 female student-athletes who participated in fall sports, which included women's badminton (emerging sport), men's and women's cross country, women's equestrian (emerging sport), women's field hockey, football, men's and women's soccer, women's volleyball and men's water polo.

Nine Brown football players have been previously been honored with NCAA Postgraduate scholarships, John Kelly, Jr. (1965), James Lukens (1970), Douglas Jost (1974), William Taylor (1975), Scott Nelson (1977), Lou Cole (1978, Robert Foster (1979), Travis Holcombe (1982) and Rene Abdalah (1994).

Hartigan was an NCAA Top VIII Award recipient, and the unanimous selection for the Asa S. Bushnell Cup as the Ivy League Player of the Year, after leading Brown to a 9-1 record and the outright Ivy League Championship for the first time ever. He was also named the ECAC Division I-AA Player of the Year, and was recently named the Rhode Island Male Athlete of the Year.

A political science and history concentrator with a 3.91 GPA, Hartigan was honored as the CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine National Academic All-American of the Year, the highest academic recognition attainable for a student-athlete. He was also named a First Team National Academic All-American for the second consecutive season, and was one of 16 players nationally to be awarded a National Football Foundation Scholarship.

A first team All-American by the Associated Press, Walter Camp, the Sports Network and the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), Hartigan is the second player in Ivy League Football history to be honored as a First Team All-American and First Team Academic All-American. He also played in the 2006 East-West Shrine Game in San Antonio, Texas, and was a final three selection for the Walter Payton Award as the nation's top I-AA player, and even received two Heisman Trophy votes.

He is a six-time Ivy League Player of the Week and holder of three career Ivy League scoring records including new marks for career rushing touchdowns (52), career points (324), and career touchdowns (54). He also established new league records for Ivy career rushing touchdowns (35), Ivy career points (222), Ivy career touchdowns (37) and Ivy season touchdowns (16).

Hartigan ran for 100 or more yards 23 times in his Brown career, and rushed for a Brown record 1,727 yards in 2005, second best in Ivy League football history. He set additional Brown records for touchdowns (21) and points (126) in a season. His 4,492 career rushing yards are third best in the Ivy record book and rank 20th in NCAA history, shattering the previous Brown career rushing mark by nearly 1,300 yards. He also led the nation in rushing (172.7 yards per game) and scoring (12.6 points per game).

Hartigan is the first player in Brown football history to win the Harry Agganis/Harold Zimman Award as the outstanding Division I senior football player in New England by the New England Football Writers. He was the winner of the Swede Nelson Award by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston.

To qualify for an NCAA postgraduate scholarship, a student-athlete must have an overall grade-point average of 3.200 (on a 4.000 scale) or its equivalent, and must have performed with distinction as a member of the varsity team in the sport in which the student-athlete was nominated. The student-athlete must have behaved, both on and off the field, in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics. The student-athlete also must intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a full-time or part-time graduate student. Candidates are screened by seven regional selection committees, and the award recipients are selected by the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Committee.