Ivy League Championships


The Ivy Champions of 1976

For 50 Years, Brown fans heralded the Iron Men of 1926. But in 1976, there was another celebration as Brown won a share of the Ivy League title (with Yale) for the first time ever. A 28-17 victory over Columbia on the final day of the season clinched the title for the Bruins. Only a 7-6 loss to Penn stood in the way of a perfect season.

Ranked throughout the season as one of the top defensive teams in the nation, Brown's defensive unit was a major factor in early wins over Yale, Rhode Island and Princeton. Linebacker Scott Nelson led the defensive unit with a season high 93 tackles as Brown held its opponents to 102 points for the season.

Coach John Anderson's offense came on strong and sparked Brown to an 8-1 overall record and a 6-1 Ivy League slate. The offense broke eight Brown team season marks with quarterback Paul Michelko setting two game records and split end Bob Farnham surpassing two career highs.

1976 Results

Brown 14, Yale 6

Brown 3, Rhode Island 0

Brown 13, Princeton 7

Penn 7, Brown 6

Brown 28, Cornell 12

Brown 28, Holy Cross 18

Brown 16, Harvard 14

Brown 35, Dartmouth 21

Brown 28, Columbia 17