Dan Giovacchini '15 Named To FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

Dan Giovacchini '15 Named To FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

CLEVELAND – Brown senior linebacker Dan Giovacchini (Acton, MA) has been named to the 17th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Academic All-Star Team as announced by the FCS ADA.

Giovacchini is a two-time All-Ivy selection and a three-year starter for the Bears, playing in 39 career games. A National Football Foundation Scholar Athlete award nominee and Business Entrepreneurship and Organizations concentrator at Brown, Giovacchini is also a Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-District selection. He ranked third on the Brown team with 46 total tackles, including three for a loss.  Giovacchini stepped up against Dartmouth with 11 tackles, including a quarterback sack, and made eight tackles against Yale.

"The FCS ADA is proud to recognize its Academic All-Star Team for the 17th-straight season," stated FCS ADA President Ken Beazer, director of athletics, Southern Utah University. "This year, the team was selected from the highest number of nominees since 2002. It is extremely admirable what our football student-athletes are able to accomplish in the classroom and on the field."

Football players from all Football Championship Subdivision institutions are eligible for the award. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Ken Beazer, Southern Utah (chair); Thorr Bjorn, Rhode Island; Brian Hutchinson, Morehead State; Jeff Tingey, Idaho State; and Mark Wilson, Tennessee Tech.