Brown Football Awards Banquet

Brown Football Awards Banquet

Providence, RI -  Brown football recently announced its Team Awards for 2011, with several awards being presented a its Annual Team Banquet at Andrews Dining Hall.  The banquet commemorated the 2011 season, where the Bears posted a 7-3 overall record and finished second in the Ivy League standings. Brown players, coaches, parents and alumni were present as seniors Steve Peyton and Kyle Newhall-Caballero were named winners of the Tuss McLaughry Award as the 2011 Team MVP's.


Eugene C Swift '40 Award-

Mel Farr '12- for character, devotion and personal courage


Edward T Brackett Award-

Daniel Smithwick '12 – demonstrated the greatest improvement on the field


Charles E Young-Hillhouse Award-

Matthew O'Donnell '12 - the unsung hero


Broomhead Memorial Trophy-

Luke Landers '12 - continuous and generous contributions and most loyal


Frederick "Fritz" Pollard Award-

Alexander Tounkara-Kone '11.5 - despite trials and tribulations continued to achieve


Kilgore MacFarlane '23 Western States Award-

Robert Gillett '11.5 - a player from a western state who exemplies leadership, ability and conduct


Kevin T. Slattery'76 Memorial Scholarship-

Daniel Giovacchini '15 - freshman that shows the best combination of leadership and potential


Kevin Kehoe '83 Memorial Award-

Courtland Clavette '15 - top freshman through performance, dedication and contribution 


Dave Zucconi '55 Brown Pride Award-

Jon Land '79 - award given for loyalty, support, service and faith in Brown Football, The Brown "Super Fan"


Sports Foundation Jay Barry Award –      

Michael Goldberger  – Person whose efforts and energy on behalf of the team has enhanced the success on the program


Chris Perry P'88 '92 Community Service Award–                

Brett Wyman '12 – active in community service and exhibits the qualities of scholarship, leadership and concern for others


Class of 1910  Trophy–            

Nathan Lovett '12  – awarded to a senior with the highest scholastic standing for first seven semesters


William H Perry' 88 Award–       

Clayton McGrath '12 and Kyle Rettig '12  – Top Defensive Lineman


Paul K Sloan '97 Award –              

Jack Templeton '13  - Top Offensive Lineman


"The Mounty" Award  (Brian Wallace)-         

Adewole Oyalowo '14   - MVP of Junior Varsity Team


Tuss McLaughry Award –       

Stephen Peyton '12 and Kyle Newhall-Caballero '11.5 - Co- winners of the team MVP