Record 12 Brown Players Named To National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society

Record 12 Brown Players Named To National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society

Providence, Rhode Island - The National Football Foundation announced that 12 seniors on the Brown football team have been named to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football seniors from all divisions of play, who maintain a 3.2 GPA or better, and are a starter or significant substitute. 


A total of 620 players from 246 schools of all divisions qualified for membership in the society's fourth year, an 80-percent increase from the inaugural class in 2007.  Brown football had more players honored than any Division I school in the nation.


Named from Brown were seniors Mark Callahan (Syracuse, NY), David Clement (Lansdale, PA), Kelley Cox (Owings Mills, MD), Tim Danser (Saratoga, CA), Buddy Farnham (Andover, MA), Paul Jasinowski (Washington, DC), Mike Lemmons (Washington, DC), Matthew Mangiacotti (Irvington, NY), Brian Neff (Parma, OH), Chris Perkins (Bridgeton, MO), Drew Plitcha (Bartonville, TX) and Trevan Samp (Sturgeon Bay, WI).


“The mission of the NFF is to build leaders through football, and this year's Hampshire Honor Society members are living proof of that charge,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning.  “Each of these young men has showcased a strong desire to succeed on and off the football field, and we are extremely proud to honor them for their accomplishments as the next generation of our nation's leaders.”


The Hampshire Honor Society becomes the latest component of the organization's efforts to promote combined athletic and academic success.  Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of the Hampshire Companies, provided an endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007.  He made the contribution as party of his legacy to the organization after serving as NFF chairman from 1994-2006.


Pictured:  Michael Lemmons '10.  photo by