Brown's Varsity Eight Earns First Team All-Ivy Honors

May 11, 2009

Providence, R.I. - The Ivy League announced All-Ivy squads on Monday afternoon, with the nine Bears from the varsity eight honored with a First Team appearance. Bruno earned the nod by being the top Ivy League crew to finish, meaning that the varsity eight comprised the top squad. Harvard, the second place finisher, received Second Team All-Ivy recognition.

In one of the most dramatic comebacks in years, Brown's top boat, composed of, from bow, Christian Crynes, Chris Bowman, Matt Wheeler, Cole Bonner, Ben Duggan, Brent Mylrea, Nick Ritter, stroke Scott Morgan, and coxswain Rob O'Leary came back from four seats down against Harvard, winning with a time of 5:41.4.

The victory capped off a terrific day for Brown crew, as the Bears earned a rare sweep at the EARC Sprints, winning the varsity four, first and second freshman eights, and first and second varsity eights. In the process, Bruno also took the Rowe Cup, for total team points, and the Ivy League title.