Men’s Crew Set for IRA National Championship

Men’s Crew Set for IRA National Championship

IRA Championship Central

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Brown University men's crew is primed to compete at the 2017 Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) National Championship, Friday through Sunday, June 2-4, on Lake Natoma in Gold River, California.  

Live Video: Friday AM | Friday Reps | Saturday | Sunday
Live Results
Three-Day Schedule

#IRARowingChamps | #GoBruno 

Brown will enter four boats at the IRAs, made up of the varsity eight, second varsity, third varsity and varsity four. The three-day regatta will start with heats on Friday with repechage races in the afternoon if needed, followed by the semifinals on Saturday and the finals on Sunday. The winner of the varsity eight grand final is recognized as the IRA National Champion. California captured the title last season after knocking off five-time defending national champion Washington. 

Brown was one of 17 boats to earn automatic qualification in the varsity eight, along with seven other at-large crews. The top nine crews from Eastern Sprints earned a direct spot to the regatta with Yale, Harvard, Princeton, BU, Dartmouth and Brown earning a trip after advancing to the Varsity Eight Grand Finals. Cornell, Syracuse and Wisconsin also earned automatic qualification after placing in the top three in the Petite Final. 

From the West, the top three finishers from the Pac-12 Championships (Washington, Cal and Stanford) earned IRA spots while Santa Clara and UC-San Diego qualified out of the Western Sprints regatta.

Varsity – Heat 1 – Lane 4 – 8:30 AM (PST)
2V – Heat 1 – Lane 4 – 9:30 AM (PST)
3V – Heat 3 – Lane 4 – 10:30 AM (PST)
V4 – Heat 1 – Lane 5 – 11:00 AM (PST) 

Brown has been one of the top programs at the national championship in recent years, advancing to the varsity grand finals in eight straight seasons, the race that officially determines the national champion. The Bears sent two boats (varsity, third varsity) to the grand finals last year at Lake Mercer and placed sixth in the Jim Ten Eyck Memorial Trophy, awarded to the school with the most team points. 

Brown has captured the varsity eight championship seven times in program history, winning in 1979, 1983, 1986, 1987, 1993, 1994 and 1995.

Brown rowed three weeks ago at the EARC Eastern Sprints, when the Bears placed fifth in the Rowe Cup standings, awarded to the school with the highest number of total points. Brown was one of only three schools to advance five boats to the grand finals. The varsity eight placed sixth overall, while the varsity, second varsity and third varsity boats all bested their seeds. 

For more information, recaps, photos and continued coverage, please visit