Team Awards Announced At Brown Basketball Banquet

Providence, R.I. - Brown basketball coach Mike Martin announced the team's annual achievement awards at the Brown Basketball Team Banquet on May 2 at the Brown Faculty Club. Martin's squad posted a 15-14 overall record and earned a berth in the Postseason Tournament, hosting its first ever postseason game.


Woody Grimshaw '47 Memorial Award (Best Defender):

Cedric Kuakumensah '16 (Worcester, Massachusetts)

Ivy League Defensive Player of the Year


Bernie Buonanno Scholar Athlete Award:

Rafael Maia'15 (Sao Paolo, Brazil)

CoSIDA Academic All-District


Russ Tyler Top Newcomer Award:

Leland King '17 (Inglewood, California)

Four-time Ivy League Rookie of the Week

Steven Spieth '17 (Dallas, Texas)

Three-time Ivy League Rookie of the Week


J. Richmond Fales Trophy (Team MVP):

Sean McGonagill '14 (Brookfield, Illinois)

First Team All-Ivy; 3rd All-Time Career Scorer


Tom Hoagland '63 Award (Hard Work and Community Service):

Tavon Blackmon '17 (Upper Marlboro, Maryland)

Ranked second in assists and started 27 games


Dave Zucconi '55 Unsung Hero Award:

Rafael Maia'15 (Sao Paolo, Brazil)

Ivy League's Leading Rebounder


Stan Ward 'Quiet Man' Award:

Dockery Walker '15 (Magnolia, Delaware)

Returned From Injury and excelled on the court