Sean McGonagill Named Men’s Basketball Candidate for Senior CLASS Award

Sean McGonagill Named Men’s Basketball Candidate for Senior CLASS Award

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (October 30, 2013) – Sixty NCAA® men's and women's basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the 2013-14 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball.  Sean McGonagill (Brookfield, IL), Brown's All-Ivy senior guard, was the only Ivy League student-athlete honored among the 30 candidates in men's basketball.


To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.


McGonagill's 1,113 career points in three years at Brown are 19th best in Brown history, while his 413 career assists rank third in the Brown record book.  A first team All-Ivy selection a year ago, McGonagill was the Ivy League's fourth leading scorer with 14.0 points per game and also ranked fourth in the league in assists. 


McGonagill is also the epitome of a team player according to head coach Mike Martin.  "We can always count on him to do things the right way, both on and off the court," said Martin.   "He handles success with great modesty and humility while also bouncing back from defeat with great determination.  We want our young players around him as much as possible to see how he carries himself on a daily basis, embracing all that there is available on our campus."


An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 


Of the 60 candidates, 20 have grade point averages of 3.5 or higher. There are eight CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-Americans® and seven returning All-Americans. Twenty-four of the 32 NCAA Division I basketball-playing conferences are represented as well.


The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Men's Final Four® and NCAA Women's Final Four®.


Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 


For more information on all the candidates, visit


Men's Basketball Candidates

Travis Bader, Oakland

Joe Jackson, Memphis

Jerrelle Benimon, Towson

Walt Lemon Jr., Bradley

Kyle Boswell, UC Santa Barbara

J.J. Mann, Belmont

Allan Chaney, High Point

Doug McDermott, Creighton

Aaron Craft, Ohio State

Sean McGonagill, Brown

Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State

Travis McKie, Wake Forest

Melvin Ejim, Iowa State

Jordan McRae, Tennessee

Dwayne Evans, Saint Louis

Shabazz Napier, Connecticut

Chris Eversley, Cal Poly

Dennis Ogbe, Tennessee Tech

C.J. Fair, Syracuse

Kendrick Perry, Youngstown State

Tim Frazier, Penn State

Dwight Powell, Stanford

Jakob Gollon, Mercer

Augustine Rubit, South Alabama

Joe Harris, Virginia

Russ Smith, Louisville

Holton Hunsaker, Utah Valley

Chris Udofia, Denver

Anthony Ireland, Loyola Marymount

Patric Young, Florida