${firstName} ${lastName}
Title: Brown Men's Ice Hockey Team
Organization: of 1950-51

Brown Men's Ice Hockey Team of 1950-51
Year Inducted:

The storied 1950-51 Brown hockey team posted the most wins (18) of any Bears’ hockey team in Brown’s 101 year history. The only two teams with more victories, the 1964-1965 and 1975-1976 teams, had six more games to do so.

Arguably one of the best Brown hockey teams, the ’50-’51 team ended with a 18-6 overall ledger, capturing the Ivy title with a 6-2 league record.

This special team was the first of four Brown hockey teams to reach the NCAA Championships, downing Colorado College 8-4 in the semi-finals, before falling to powerful Michigan in the national final in Colorado Springs, CO.

The Bears were coached by Brown Hall of Fame member Westcott E.S. Moulton ’31, who was the first hockey player inducted into the Brown Hall of Fame in 1971. After earning All-American honors during his playing days for the Bears, Moulton served for 15 years as either a hockey, tennis, squash, or football coach at Brown.

The team was captained by James M. Sutherland Jr. with other members including: Don Whiston, Tony Malo, Don Sennott, Bob Wheeler, John Murphy, Jack Gilbert, Frank DiBiase, Larry Dion, Jerry Schumb, Larry North, Bob Duffy, George Gill, Bob Maley, George Vernet, Al Gubbins, Art Petit, John Casey, and Warren Priestly.